Rebecca L. Flora, Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Deborah A. Buelow; James D. Gaston; Amanda (Mandy) Gitt; Quinn T. Griffith, Esq.; Tiffany Harris; Daniel E. Hoff; Priscilla A. Kania; Amy G. Moredock; Lori Parris; Jennifer Ray; David S. Thaler.

[photo, 301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland] Appointed by Senate President: Mary L. Washington

Appointed by House Speaker: Vaughn M. Stewart

Ex officio: Theo Williams, designee of Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Rebecca L. Flora, Secretary of Planning.

301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland, October 2019. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Joseph R. Griffiths

c/o Office of Secretary, Department of Planning
301 West Preston St., Baltimore, MD 21201 - 2365
(410) 767-4553

Interim Report to Governor & General Assembly due Nov. 1, 2023.

Final Report to Governor & General Assembly due June 1, 2024.

In June 2023, the Accessory Dwelling Unit Policy Task Force was authorized by the General Assembly (Chapter 799, Acts of 2023).

The Task Force charge is to recommend legislation or policies that holistically address the practical issues associated with the development of accessory dwelling units on owner–occupied land zoned for single–family residential use; and the impacts on local housing markets, neighborhood livability, and other policies and projects related to accessory dwelling units. Such recommendation are to include a list of best practices for local governments in the State.

A representative sampling of State and local codes, laws, ordinances, and policies regarding the development and operation of accessory dwelling units in areas zoned for single–family residential use, including those that address residential growth in such areas, will be surveyed and documented by the Task Force. Moreover, the Task Force also will study best practices for streamlining or standardizing the application process for permits necessary to build or operate accessory dwelling units.

Fifteen members constitute the Task Force. Of these, the Governor appoints eleven members, the Senate President appoints one, and the House Speaker appoints one. Two members serve ex officio. The Governor names the Chair.

Authorization for the Task Force ends June 30, 2025.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright January 30, 2024 Maryland State Archives