Douglas J. J. Peters, Chair (chosen by Task Force)

Appointed by Governor: Frank R. Conners; David Weiss; Paul B. Woodburn.

Appointed by County Executive: Nathaniel H. Byrd III
Appointed by County Council: Keith M. Levchenko
Appointed by Chair, County Senate Delegation: Nancy J. King
Appointed by Chair, County House Delegation: A. Shane Robinson

Appointed by County Executive: one vacancy
Appointed by County Council: one vacancy
Appointed by Chair, County Senate Delegation: Douglas J. J. Peters
Appointed by Chair, County House Delegation: Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

Ex officio: Gene W. Counihan, Chair, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission.

Staff: Lori F. Morris

James Senate Office Building, Room 121
11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 841-3631, (301) 858-3631
e-mail: lmorris@senate.state.md.us

In June 2012, the Task Force to Study Rates and Charges in the Washington Suburban Sanitary District was authorized (Chapter 685, Acts of 2012).

The Task Force was to determine whether in other states any water and sewer public utilities cap the percentage of annual rate increases. Then, the Task Force was to compare water and sewer usage rates and rate increases of the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission with those charged by water and sewer public utilities in other states. Thereafter, the Task Force considered how the Commission would be affected if its annual usage rate increase were capped, and a prepayment discount to a customer who extinguished or redeemed a front-foot benefit charge before making final payment was required.

In addition, the Task Force studied and made recommendations on how developers charge property owners for construction of water and sewer facilities, and for connecting their property to those facilities; and how to improve the transparency of the process.

On December 30, 2013, the Task Force submitted its report to the Governor and the legislative delegations of Montgomery and Prince George's counties.

Authorization for the Task Force ended May 31, 2014 (Chapter 125, Acts of 2013).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives