Thomas M. Middleton, Senate Co-Chair (chosen by Senate President)
C. William Frick, House Co-Chair (chosen by House Speaker)

Appointed by Governor: Ragina C. Averella; Christopher Gude; Larry E. Hinton; Gary J. Krupka, Esq.; Arthur W. Lambert; Michael J. McCartin; Martin Schwartz; John B. Stansbury.

Appointed by Senate President: Catherine E. Pugh

Appointed by House Speaker: Benjamin T. Brooks, Sr.

Ex officio: Capt. Mark A. McGuire, designee of Secretary of State Police; Lynn R. Dickerson, designee of Maryland Insurance Commissioner; Christine E. Nizer, Motor Vehicle Administrator; Mark D. McCurdy, Esq., Executive Director, Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund; Elizabeth A. Sachs, Executive Director, Job Opportunities Task Force.

Staff: Tamela D. Burt; e-mail: tami.burt@mlis.state.md.us
Richard L. Duncan; e-mail: richard.duncan@mlis.state.md.us
Robert K. Smith; e-mail: robert.smith@mlis.state.md.us

c/o Dept. of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5530, (301) 970-5530

In April 2014, the Task Force to Study Methods to Reduce the Rate of Uninsured Drivers was authorized (Chapter 41, Acts of 2014).

The Task Force studied the rate of uninsured drivers both in Maryland and in other states, and how that rate is calculated. How drivers whose coverage has lapsed but are in the process of being reinsured affect the calculation of uninsured drivers also was considered.

Deterrents and incentives currently used, or which could be tried to reduce the rate of uninsured drivers were studied and evaluated by the Task Force. Also, ways of lowering the cost of insurance as a means to reduce the number of uninsured drivers and to promote the economic benefits of vehicle ownership were evaluated. Finally, the Task Force made recommendations based on its findings.

Authorization for the Task Force ended December 31, 2015. In the 2016 legislative session, the Task Force's co-chairs introduced legislation based on the work of the Task Force, which was enacted as Chapters 402, 426, and 447, Acts of 2016.

The Task Force submitted its final report in July 2016.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives