Thomas M. Middleton, Co-Chair (chosen by Senate President & House Speaker)
Ann Marie Doory, Co-Chair (chosen by Senate President & House Speaker)

Appointed by Senate President: Nathaniel Exum; Delores G. Kelley.

Appointed by House Speaker: Carolyn J. Krysiak; John G. Trueschler.

Appointed by Senate President & House Speaker: Anirban Basu, J.D.

Job Opportunites Task Force representative: Deborah Povich

Maryland Chamber of Commerce representative: Ronald L. Adler

Maryland Retailers Association representative: Thomas S. Saquella

Maryland State & District of Columbia AFL-CIO representative: Ernest R. Grecco

Ex officio: Roger Fujihara, designee of Secretary of Business & Economic Development; Thomas S. Wendel, designee of Secretary of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation.

Staff: Tamela D. Burt; Mitchell J. McCalmon

c/o Dept. of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401 - 1991
(410) 946-5530, (301) 970-5530, (410) 946-5350, (301) 970-5350
e-mail: tami.burt@mlis.state.md.us
e-mail: mitm@mlis.state.md.us
fax: (410) 946-5205, (301) 970-5205

In June 2003, the Unemployment Insurance Funding Task Force was created (Chapter 269, Acts of 2003). The Maryland Unemployment Insurance Law was examined by the Task Force to determine the fairness of the taxation and charging structure and existing eligibility and benefit provisions. The Task Force also considered what impact changes in the national and State economy have had on the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund. Finally, the Task Force made specific recommendations on how to ensure that payments into the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund are adequate and equitable for both employers and employees.

The Task Force issued an Interim Report on February 13, 2004, recommending that the Task Force be extended in order to complete its work. That extension was provided by Chapter 260, Acts of 2004, and on December 31, 2004, the Task Force submitted its Final Report to the General Assembly.

Authorization for the Task Force ended on December 31, 2004.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 26, 2024 Maryland State Archives