Joanne C. Benson, Senate Chair (chosen by Senate President)
Barbara A. Frush, House Chair (chosen by House Speaker)

Appointed by Governor: Jennifer Brause; Michael F. Canning, Jr.; Aileen O. Gabbey; Kurt Gallagher; Amy E. Hanigan, Esq.; Susan McDonough, V.M.D.; Barbara A. McLean, M.D.; Paul F. Miller; Carolyn Nicky Ratliff; Tami Santelli; Ann Selnick; Tamela D. Booze Terry.

Appointed by Senate President: Joanne C. Benson; James C. Rosapepe.

Appointed by House Speaker: Barbara A. Frush; A. Shane Robinson.

Ex officio: S. Patrick McMillan, designee of Secretary of Agriculture

Staff: Cristen C. Flynn; Andrew D. Gray; T. Patrick Tracy.

c/o Dept. of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5530, (301) 970-5530

In July 2011, the Task Force on the Establishment of a Statewide Spay/Neuter Fund was authorized (Chapter 266, Acts of 2011). The Task Force considered how many animals are spayed and neutered in the State and what need for those services is not currently met. The Task Force also evaluated the effectiveness of current spay/neuter programs in Maryland; best practices of spay/neuter programs in other states; and the most appropriate funding source for a spay/neuter fund. Based on these considerations, the Task Force recommended establishing a spay/neuter fund best suited to Maryland's needs.

In December 2011, the Task Force sent a letter to the Legislative Policy Committee requesting more time to complete its charge. During the 2012 General Assembly session, authorization for the Task Force was extended to June 30, 2013 (Chapters 273 & 274, Acts of 2012).

In December 2012, the Task Force submitted its final report.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 05, 2023 Maryland State Archives