[photo, Goldstein Treasury Building, Annapolis, Maryland] Chair: Robert E. Gleason, Chief Procurement Officer

Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms: Sheryl Brissett Chapman, Ed.D., 2016; Nancy Hall, 2016; Walter McNeil, Jr., 2018; Catherine Meyers, 2018.

Appointed by Senate President: Melony G. Griffith

Appointed by House Speaker: Kirill Reznik

Goldstein Treasury Building, Annapolis, Maryland, July 2010. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Ex officio: Elizabeth F. Harris, designee of Attorney General; Gabriel Gnall, Procurement Advisor, Board of Public Works; Suzanne Brogan, Esq., designee of State Treasurer; vacancy, designee of Secretary of Budget & Management; Atif T. Chaudhry, designee of Secretary of Health; Sandra V. Johnson, designee of Secretary of Human Services; Debbie T. Thornton, designee of Secretary of Juvenile Services; Rodney T. Spence, Jr., designee of State Superintendent of Schools; Sarah A. Myers, designee of Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, & Victim Services; Jessica K. Wheeler, Deputy Director, Division of Children & Youth, Governor's Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, & Victim Services; Jennifer M. Colton, Director, Governor's Grants Office; Jimmy H. Rhee, Special Secretary of Small, Minority, & Women Business Affairs.

Staff: Leslie J. Shoenhard

c/o Office of State Procurement
Department of General Services
45 Calvert St., 2nd floor
Annapolis, MD 21401 - 1994
(410) 260-4077

Annual Report to General Assembly due Dec. 31.

In October 2012, the Council for the Procurement of Health, Educational and Social Services was created by the General Assembly (Chapter 213, Acts of 2012).

The Council advised the Board of Public Works on the implementation of recommendations made by the Task Force to Study the Procurement of Health, Education, and Social Services by State Agencies in November 2011. Progress made in implementing those recommendations was monitored by the Council, which was authorized to establish subcommittees to target specific issues.

Existing procurement regulations were reviewed by the Council to ensure that they fulfilled the intent and purpose of the law, and effectively used State funds. In addition, the Council provided a forum for communicating with State agencies on procurement problems and issues, as well as on improved procurement management and methods.

Eighteen members constituted the Council. Four were appointed to four-year terms by the Governor. The Senate President and the House Speaker each appointed a legislative member. Eleven members served ex officio. The Chief Procurement Officer chaired the Council (Chapter 590, Acts of 2017; Code State Finance & Procurement Article, sec. 12-110).

In July 2021, Council functions were merged into the Procurement Improvement Council (Chapters 652 and 653, Acts of 2021).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 12, 2022 Maryland State Archives