Verna L. Jones-Rodwell, Co-Chair (chosen by Senate President)
Christopher B. Shank, Co-Chair (chosen by House Speaker)

[photo, Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland] Appointed by Governor: Asresahegn Getachew, M.D.

Tara Andrews; Yale H. Caplan, Ph.D.; Ward J. Clem; Dayena M. Corcoran; Ronald W. Cullison, Jr.; Kimberly Haven; Ralph M. Hughes; John L. Hutcherson IV; Ellsworth Johnson-Bey; Carol J. Martindale; Mona Y. Powell; Philip Smith. Terms expire 2011.

Ex officio: Shanetta J. Paskel, designee of Attorney General; Donald W. DeVore, Secretary of Juvenile Services; Gary D. Maynard, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; J. Michael Stouffer, Commissioner of Correction; Paul B. DeWolfe, Jr., Public Defender.

Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland, May 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Tamara R. Bream

c/o Office of Secretary, Dept. of Public Safety & Correctional Services
Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road., Suite 1000, Towson, MD 21286 - 3020
(410) 339-5074
e-mail: tbream@dpscs.state.md.us

Interim Report to Governor & General Assembly due Dec. 31, 2009.

Final Report to Governor & General Assembly due Dec. 31, 2010.

The Task Force to Study Prison Violence in Maryland organized in May 2008 and reconstituted in June 2009 (Chapter 518, Acts of 2007; Chapter 102, Acts of 2009). The causes, nature, patterns, and scope of the violence in Maryland's prisons is to be studied by the Task Force. The impact of certain factors, such as illegal drugs, contraband, and exposure to lead and other environmental pollutants will be examined, and the role of gang activity on violence will be evaluated. Finally, the Task Force will look at best practices for dealing with prison violence in the correctional systems of other states.

The Task Force submitted its final report to the Governor and General Assembly on January 10, 2011. Authorization for the Task Force ended May 31, 2011.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives