[photo, Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland] Richard M. Karceski, Esq., Chair (chosen by Governor), 2014

Appointed by Governor: L. Jesse Bane; Cherise Fanno Burdeen; Brian J. Frank, Esq.; Paul F. Kemp, Esq.; Dorothy J. Lennig, Esq.; Timothy F. Maloney, Esq.; Mary Lou McDonough; Capt. Michael R. Merican; Steven I. Platt; Jacqueline Robarge; Michael Schatzow, Esq.; Scott D. Shellenberger; Angela Y. Talley; Rev. Sheridan T. Yeary, Ph.D. Terms expire 2014.

Appointed by Senate President: Christopher B. Shank; Robert A. Zirkin.

Appointed by House Speaker: Luke H. Clippinger; Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk.

Ex officio: John P. Morrissey, designee of Chief Judge, Court of Appeals; Wendell M. France, designee of Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Tammy M. Brown, Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Control & Prevention; Paul B. DeWolfe, Jr., Public Defender.

Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland, May 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Lisa Smith

c/o Governor's Office of Crime Control & Prevention
Hampton Plaza, Suite 1105
300 East Joppa Road, Baltimore, MD 21286 - 3016
(410) 821-2822; 1-877-687-9004 (toll free); fax: (410) 321-3116

In May 2014, Governor's Commission to Reform Maryland's the Pretrial System was initiated by the Governor (Executive Order 01.01.2014.09).

To ensure that Maryland operates an equitable and efficient statewide pretrail program, the Commission examined Maryland's pretrial system, as well as those of other states and municipalities. It considered methods to reduce the amount of time that low-risk arrestees are detained, and other methods of pretrial diversion; and evaluated objective, validated risk assessment tools for these purposes.

In December 2014, the Commission submitted its final report to the Governor, Senate President, and House Speaker.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives