Chair (chosen by Governor): Frederick W. Puddester, Secretary of Budget & Management

Appointed by Governor: LaVerne Smith Baykin; Frankie L. Blackburn; Donna P. Crocker; Vivian M. Dodson; James A. Gabriel; Myra A. Gold; Robert V. Hess; Betty J. Humphrey; Richard S. Madaleno, Jr.; Vincent L. Marando; Edwin G. Richards; Herman R. Rosenthal, Esq.; Lorraine M. Sheehan; Kinaya Coleman Sokoya; Bruce J. Zimmerman; two vacancies.

Appointed by Senate President: Nathaniel J. McFadden; Thomas McLain (Mac) Middleton.

Appointed by House Speaker: Talmadge Branch; Henry B. Heller.

Ex officio: James Macgill, Jr., designee of Secretary of Aging; Celester A. (Les) Hall, Jr., designee of Secretary of Business & Economic Development; Lorraine Sorbello, designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Raymond A. Skinner, designee of Secretary of Housing & Community Development; A. Susan Fernandez, Esq., designee of Secretary of Human Resources; John P. O'Connor, Acting Secretary of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation; Sharon L. Nathanson, designee of State Superintendent of Schools; James C. Thomas, designee of Director of Planning; Kenneth H. Rumsey, designee of Special Secretary for Children, Youth, & Families.

Ex officio (nonvoting): Michael Sanderson, designee of Executive Director, Maryland Association of Counties; Scott A. Hancock, Executive Director, Maryland Municipal League; Peter V. Berns, Executive Director, Maryland Association of Nonprofit Organizations

Staff: Linda C. Janey, Office of Planning; Justin A. Kopca, Dept. of Budget & Management.

c/o Dept. of Planning
301 West Preston St., Suite 1104, Baltimore, MD 21201 - 2305
(410) 767-4490; fax: (410) 767-4480

The Governor started the Partnership Policy Council on Block Grants in May 1996 (Executive Order 01.01.1996.12). Since Congress was considering a change of certain programs administered by State and local government into block grants, the Council evaluated the policies and processes involved with federal block grants. The Council was to review related federal legislation and regulations and propose a transition plan for each grant from categorical to block grant. The Council also helped State government agencies plan for and use these grants.

In October 1998, the Council submitted its report to the Governor on guiding principles for State block grant policy.

Defunct Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives