John L. Bohanan, Jr., Chair (chosen jointly by Senate President & House Speaker)

Appointed by Senate President: Ulysses Currie; Roy P. Dyson; Edward J. Kasemeyer; Donald F. Munson.

Appointed by House Speaker: Joseph R. Bartlett; John L. Bohanan, Jr.; Norman H. Conway; John A. Olszewski, Jr.

Appointed jointly by Senate President & House Speaker: Norman R. Augustine; John Paul Davey; John C. Erickson; Murray K. (Ray) Hoy, Ed.D.; Larry Letow; Lawrence A. Shulman; Garland O. Williamson; one vacancy.

Ex officio: Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor; T. Eloise Foster, Secretary of Budget & Management; James E. Lyons, Sr., Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education; William E. Kirwan, Ph.D., Chancellor & Chief Executive Officer, University System of Maryland; David J. Ramsay, D.M., D. Phil., President, University of Maryland, Baltimore; C. Daniel Mote, Jr., President, University of Maryland, College Park; Susan C. Aldridge, Ph.D., President, University of Maryland University College; Earl S. Richardson, Ed.D., President, Morgan State University; Robert L. Caret, Ph.D., President, Towson University; William R. Brody, Ph.D., President, The Johns Hopkins University; Tina M. Bjarekull, President, Maryland Independent College and University Association; H. Clay Whitlow, Executive Director, Maryland Association of Community Colleges.

Staff: Rachel H. Hise; Dana K. Tagalicod.

c/o Dept. of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5350, (301) 970-5350

The Commission to Develop the Maryland Model for Funding Higher Education was authorized in July 2006 (Chapter 57, Acts of 2006). To ensure accessibility and affordability while promoting policies to achieve national eminence at all Maryland public institutions of higher education, the Commission was to review options for a consistent and stable funding mechanism for higher education. In this process, it also was to consider the appropriate level of funding for the State's historically black institutions to keep them comparable and competitive with other public institutions.

In December 2007, the Commission submitted an interim report, and in December 2008 a final report to the Governor and General Assembly. Authorization for the Commission ended June 1, 2009 (Chapter 45, Acts of 2008).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives