Chair (chosen by Governor): Major F. Riddick, Jr., designee of Governor

Appointed by Governor: Joseph F. Barbera; Richard Bernstein; Patrick W. Dowd, Ph.D.; Donald V. Evans; Ronald G. Forsythe, Jr., Ph.D.; Jaye S. Gamble; Stephen J. Herman, Ph.D.; Gregory W. Hurtt; Paul Jacoby; F. Suzanne Jenniches; Eugene T. Lauer; Gilbert H. E. Morgan; Michael E. Patrick; Donald R. Riley, Ph.D.; Steven D. Rizzi; George R. Thoma, Ph.D.; G. William Troxler, Ed.D.; Patricia E. Wallace; Danny B. Weddle, Ph.D.; Judith A. Wood; Kenneth A. Yowan.

Ex officio: Frederick W. Puddester, Secretary of Budget & Management; Richard C. Mike Lewin, Ph.D., Secretary of Business & Economic Development; John D. Porcari, Secrertary of Transportation; Patricia S. Florestano, Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education; Glenn F. Ivy, Esq., Chair, Public Service Commission.

Staff: Karl L. Damanda

c/o Telecommunications
Dept. of Budget & Management
45 Calvert St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-7546; fax: (410) 974-5060

The Task Force on High-Speed Network Development formed in October 1998 (Chapter 715, Acts of 1998). The Task Force charge was to study developments in regions of the country where high-speed computer networking is progressing in order to assess costs, benefits, and infrastructure. The Task Force evaluated the advantages of developing high-speed computer networking throughout Maryland, including its use for education and training and configurational options for public, private and residential access. In addition, the Task Force recommended State policies for the promotion, development, and equitable use of high-speed computer networking, as well as what equipment, configuration, and location would provide effective statewide access (Code State Finance and Procurement Article, sec. 3-706).

The Task Force submitted its first report to the Governor and General Assembly on January 1, 1999, and its final report on January 1, 2000.

Defunct Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives