Co-Chair: Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor
Co-Chair: John M. Colmers, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene

[photo, Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, 201 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland] Appointed by Senate President: Edward J. Kasemeyer; Thomas M. Middleton.

Appointed by House Speaker: Peter A. Hammen; James W. Hubbard.

Ex officio: Carolyn A. Quattrocki, designee of Governor; Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor; Douglas F. Gansler, Attorney General; T. Eloise Foster, Secretary of Budget & Management; John M. Colmers, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Brian L. Wilbon, Acting Secretary of Human Resources; Elizabeth P. Sammis, Ph.D., Interim Maryland Insurance Commissioner; Marilyn L. Moon, Ph.D., Chair, Maryland Health Care Commission; Frederick W. Puddester, Chair, State Health Services Cost Review Commission.

Herbert R. O'Conor State Office Building, 201 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland, December 2000. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Charles J. Milligan, Jr., J.D.

c/o Executive Director
Hilltop Institute, Sondheim Hall, 3rd floor
1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250
(410) 455-6274; e-mail:

In March 2010, the Governor created the Maryland Health Care Reform Coordinating Council (Executive Order 01.01.2010.07). Since the implementation of federal health care reform is a shared federal and State responsibility, the Council reviewed the federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 and identified what State laws and regulations were affected. A timeline of decisions and actions for the State in implementing provisions of the federal law, and a computation of its annual fiscal impact on the State budget were developed by the Council. Finally, the Council made comprehensive recommendations concerning health care reform policy and implementation.

The Council consisted of thirteen members. Nine served ex officio, two were appointed by the Senate President, and two by the House Speaker (Executive Order 01.01.2010.15).

On July 26, 2010, the Council submitted its interim report to the Governor. On January 1, 2011, the Council submitted its final report.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 16, 2024 Maryland State Archives