Thomas M. Middleton, Co-Chair (chosen by Senate President)
Sally Y. Jameson, Co-Chair (chosen by House Speaker)

Appointed by Senate President: Stephen S. Hershey, Jr.; James N. Matthias, Jr.

Appointed by House Speaker: Luke H. Clippinger; Johnny F. Mautz IV.

Ex officio: R. Michael Gill, Secretary of Commerce; Robert C. Brennan, Executive Director, Maryland Economic Development Corporation; Mary Beth Tung, Esq., Ph.D., Director, Maryland Energy Administration; I. Katherine Magruder, Executive Director, Maryland Clean Energy Center; Roy C. McGrath, Director, Maryland Environmental Service; John M. Wasilisin, Acting Executive Director, Maryland Technology Development Corporation; D. Gregory Cole, Executive Director, Maryland Industrial Development Financing Authority.

Staff: Tamela D. Burt; Stephen M. Ross; Robert K. Smith; Jody J. Sprinkle; Tonya D. Zimmerman.

c/o Department of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5530
e-mail: tami.burt@mlis.state.md.us

In June 2016, the Task Force on the Maryland Clean Energy Center was created (Chapter 577, Acts of 2016).

The Maryland Clean Energy Center encourages the development both of the clean energy industry and deployment of clean energy technologies. It works to attract and retain business activities in the State's clean energy technology industry sector; and promotes economic development and the health, safety, and welfare of Marylanders.

The Task Force on the Maryland Clean Energy Center was to determine how best to make the Maryland Clean Energy Center self-sustaining. First, the Task Force assessed what programs currently are provided by the Center, and what programs it could provide, including the establishment of a green bank. Whether the Center should partner with existing State financing instrumentalities was considered, as well as the advantageousness of the Center co-locating with such an instrumentality or another State agency. Further, the Task Force was to determine whether the balance of loans to the Center from the Maryland Energy Administration in FY2009 should be converted to a start-up grant towards making the Center self-sustaining. Finally, the Task Force was to decide how much annual grant funding the Center needs until it achieves financial sustainability.

The Task Force was made up of thirteen members.

In June 2017, the Task Force submitted its report to the Governor and General Assembly.

Authorization for the Task Force ended June 30, 2017.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives