Rolf H. Grafwallner, Ph.D., Co-Chair (appointed by State Superintendent of Schools)
Sandra J. Skolnick, Co-Chair (appointed by State Superintendent of Schools)

Appointed by Governor: Janine Gabrielle Bacquie; Arlene F. Ennis; Mary J. Hunt; Debra Metheny; T. Sky Woodward.

Appointed by Senate President: Joan Carter Conway

Appointed by House Speaker: Justin D. Ross

Representative of Maryland Association of Boards of Education: Patricia S. Gordon

Representative of Maryland Chamber of Commerce: Gene W. Counihan

Ex officio: Rolf H. Grafwallner, Ph.D., designee of State Superintendent of Schools; Elisa L. Klein, Ph.D., designee of Dean, College of Education, University of Maryland, College Park; Tracie Farrell, designee of Executive Director, Governor's Office for Children; Veronica Land Davis, President, Maryland Head Start Association; Mark L. Rosenberg, President, Maryland State Child Care Association; Sandra J. Skolnik, Executive Director, Maryland Committee for Children.

Staff: Michael R. Cockey (410) 767-0602
e-mail: mcockey@msde.state.md.us

Janet Moye Cornick, Ed.D. (410) 260-4544
e-mail: jcornick@mhec.state.md.us
web: www.mdchildcare.org/mdcfc/public_policy/task_force.html

c/o Division of Early Childhood Development
State Dept. of Education, 200 West Baltimore St., Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-0342; fax: (410) 333-2379

In July 2006, the Task Force on Universal Preschool Education formed (Chapter 498, Acts of 2006). The Task Force proposed a plan by which to increase access to early childhood education. The plan included incentives, resource development, infrastructure development, and funding sources. The Task Force also considered methods to support the professional development of early childhood education staff.

Some fifteen members comprised the Task Force. Six served ex officio. Five were appointed by the Governor, and one each was chosen by the Senate President and the House Speaker. One member represented the Maryland Association of Boards of Education, and one represented the Maryland Chamber of Commerce.

In December 2007, the Task Force reported to the Governor and General Assembly. Authorization for the Task Force ended June 30, 2008.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives