Vacancy, Chair (chosen by Governor)

[photo, Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland] Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms: Brian T. Cox; Thomas E. Curtis, Jr.; Scott A. Davis; Dwayne C. Embert; Andrew J. Imparato, J.D.; Anne Colt Leitess, Esq.; Joanna L. Pierson, Ph.D.; Theresa R. Sparks; Sara Hart Weir; Erica Wheeler. Terms expire 2016.

Appointed by Senate President: one vacancy

Appointed by House Speaker: Peter A. Hammen

Ex officio: Carol A. Beatty, Secretary of Disabilities; Lisa S. Hovermale, M.D., designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Joseph W. (Jay) Cleary, designee of Secretary of Juvenile Services; James K. Holwager, Ed.D., designee of Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Col. William M. Pallozzi, Secretary of State Police; James R. Hedrick, designee of Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Control & Prevention; Rae A. Oliveira, designee of Executive Director, Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems; J. Michael Zeigler, Executive Director, Police & Correctional Training Commissions.

Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland, May 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: James R. Hedrick

c/o Governor's Office of Crime Control & Prevention
Hampton Plazza, Suite 1105
300 East Joppa Road, Baltimore, MD 21286 - 3016
(410) 821-2831; fax: (410) 321-3116

To ensure that law enforcement officers, paramedics, and first responders are best educated to safely manage situations involving individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities, the Governor's Commission for Effective Community Inclusion of Individuals with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities was established in September 2013 (Executive Order 01.01.2013.04).

The Commission developed and recommended policies, guidelines, or best practices for law enforcement officials, paramedics, and first responders to follow in situations involving individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Statewide training standards also were considered by the Commission. In addition, a comprehensive strategy using all possible types of assistance, such as expansion of crisis intervention teams and mobile crisis teams, was developed by the Commission to ensure appropriate responses to situations with intellectually and developmentally disabled individuals.

The Commission submitted its initial report to the Governor, Senate President, and House Speaker on January 9, 2014, and a final report in December 2015.

Established in July 2015 within the Department of Disabilities, the Ethan Saylor Alliance for Self-Advocates as Educators carries on some of the Commission's work.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives