Mary L. Washington, Chair (chosen by Task Force)

Appointed by Senate President: Michael J. Hough; Jeffrey D. Waldstreicher; Mary L. Washington.

Appointed by House Speaker: Daniel L. Cox; Emily K. Shetty; one vacancy.

Appointed by Public Defender: David M. Jaros, J.D.

Appointed by President, Maryland State's Attorneys' Association: Scott G. Patterson

Ex officio: Hannibal Kemerer, Esq., designee of Attorney General; Rachel M. Kamins, designee of Public Defender; Carl J. Kotowski, designee of Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, & Victim Services; David A. Soule, Ph.D., Executive Director, State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; Daniel M. Long, Chair, Justice Reinvestment Oversight Board; Scott D. Shellenberger, designee of President, Maryland State's Attorneys' Association.

[photo, Legislative Services Building (from College Ave.), 90 State Circle, Annapolis, Maryland] Staff: Jameson D. Lancaster

c/o Department of Legislative Service
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5350
e-mail: jameson.lancaster@mlis.state.md.us
web: http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/mgawebsite/Committees/Details?cmte=ccp

Legislative Services Building (from College Ave.), 90 State Circle, Annapolis, Maryland, January 2018. Photo by Diane F. Evartt

In June 2019, the Task Force to Study Crime Classification and Penalties was formed by the General Assembly (Chapters 372 & 578, Acts of 2019).

First, the Task Force reviewed all penalties for both criminal and civil violations in the Maryland Code. Next, the history and legislative intent of the classifications of criminal and civil violations was evaluated, including the constitutional implications and the collateral consequences resulting from those classifications. Further, Maryland's system of criminal classifications and penalties was compared to those of other states. Finally, the Task Force made recommendations for changing the current statutory classifications of criminal and civil violations in the Maryland Code.

Authorization for the Task Force ended June 30, 2021.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 15, 2024 Maryland State Archives