David M. Sutherland, Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Russell B. Brinsfield, Ph.D.; Anthony DiPaolo; John W. S. Foster III; J. Philip Gottwals; Elizabeth Dickinson Hill; David E. Opel; Midgett S. Parker, Jr., Esq.; Nathaniel E. Williams.

Appointed by Senate President: John C. Astle

Appointed by House Speaker: Karen S. Montgomery

Ex officio: Steven W. Koehn, designee of Secretary of Natural Resources; Lynda Eisenberg, designee of Secretary of Planning.

Contact: Steven W. Koehn

c/o Forest Service, Dept. of Natural Resources
Tawes State Office Building, E-1
580 Taylor Ave., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-8501; fax: (410) 260-8595

The Governor's Commission for Protecting the Chesapeake Bay through Sustainable Forestry was established by the Governor in March 2005 (Executive Order 01.01.2004.53). The Commission studied ways Maryland can achieve the forest landscape policy goals required under the Chesapeake 2000 Agreement. By this agreement, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, the District of Columbia, the Chesapeake Bay Commission, and federal agencies committed to expanding and connecting contiguous forest lands in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed.

In February 2006, the Commission submitted an interim report to the Governor, and in October 2006, its final report.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 12, 2024 Maryland State Archives