Chair: Horacio A. Tablada, Secretary of the Environment

Appointed by President, University of Maryland, College Park: Joseph H. Sullivan, Ph.D.

Appointed by Commission on Environmental Justice & Sustainable Communities: Crystal Faison

Appointed by Blue Water Baltimore: Darin Crew

Appointed by Chesapeake Bay Foundation: one vacancy

Appointed by Maryland Association of Counties: David V. Lykens

Appointed by Maryland Farm Bureau: Colby Ferguson

Appointed by Maryland League of Conservation Voters: Marisa A. Olszewski

Appointed by Maryland Municipal League: Angelica Bailey

Appointed by Nature Conservancy (Maryland Chapter): Deborah Landau, Ph.D.

Appointed by Patapsco Heritage Greenway: Mark T. Southerland, Ph.D.

Ex officio: Dereck E. Davis, State Treasurer; Joseph Bartenfelder, Secretary of Agriculture; Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio, Secretary of Natural Resources; Gary G. Allen, President, Maryland Forestry Foundation.

[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] Staff: Rachel L. Lamb, Ph.D.

c/o Office of Secretary, Department of the Environment
Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
(410) 537-3000; 1-800-633-6101 (toll free, Maryland); tdd: (410) 631-3009

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

In June 2021, the Commission for the Innovation and Advancement of Carbon Markets and Sustainable Tree Plantings was formed by the General Assembly (Chapter 645, Acts of 2021). The Commission is also known as the Maryland Carbon Markets and Trees Commission.

The Commission developed a plan to support the State's carbon mitigation goal of planting five million trees by 2030, and to ensure that the trees planted are properly maintained. In accord with the State's tree-planting goals, the Commission also made recommendations concerning the establishment of a Maryland-based carbon offset market. It also reviewed State policies that reduce and fully mitigate tree cutting for State construction and highway projects.

Fifteen members constituted the Commission. Of these, five served ex officio, including the Secretary of the Environment, who chaired the Commission.

Authorization for the Commission ended June 30, 2023.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 14, 2023 Maryland State Archives