Kurt J. Fischer, Esq., Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Jay H. Creech, Esq.; Heidi E. Dudderar, Esq.; Janet Bush Handy, Esq.; Howard S. Klein, Esq.; Henry F. Maraffa, Jr.; Harold R. (Ray) Mertz; Melville E. Peters; Young Kim Robinson.

Appointed by Senate President: not yet appointed

Appointed by House Speaker: Patrick N. Hogan; Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

Representing Department of Business & Economic Development: Gregory Kosmas

Representing Department of General Services: Nelson E. Reichart

Representing Department of Housing & Community Development: John Papagni

Representing Department of Planning: William P. (Skip) Gibson

Representing Department of Transportation: Glenn M. Torgerson

Representing Maryland Retailers Association: Thomas S. Saquella

Staff: George M. Faber

c/o Office of Real Estate, Department of Transportation
Harry R. Hughes Department of Transportation Building, 7201 Corporate Center Drive, Hanover, MD 21076
(410) 865-1272
e-mail: gfaber@mdot.state.md.us

The Task Force on Business-Owner Compensation in Condemnation Proceedings was authorized in July 2004 (Chapter 446, Acts of 2004). The Task Force studied issues involved in compensating business owners in condemnation proceedings, including the concept of business goodwill, particularly small business goodwill. Whether business goodwill can be compensated for and how to calculate such compensation in condemnation proceedings was considered. Additionally, the Task Force studied the feasibility of requiring a displacing public agency to conduct a study of the condemnation impact on businesses in the area where condemnation proceedings take place.

The appropriateness of establishing a fund to provide financial assistance to businesses impacted by a condemnation proceeding and the feasibility of shortening the condemnation process for businesses was examined by the Task Force.

The Task Force submitted its preliminary report to the Governor and General Assembly on January 21, 2005, and its final report on December 21, 2005. Authorization for the Task Force expired December 31, 2005.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@maryland.gov

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives