Mary L. Hastler, Chair (chosen by Board of Directors)

Appointed by Governor: Mary M. Callis, 2022; Mary L. Hastler, 2022; Ronald E. (Pete) Lesher, Jr., 2023; Julia S. Madden, 2023.

Appointed by Council to 3-year terms: Mary Kay Finan, Ed.D.; Tiffany McGhee; Jeanne Pirtle; Jennifer Shea. Terms expire 2021.

James Cornelsen; Ronald Nowaczyk; Randy Ontiveros; Maarten L. Pereboom, Ph.D.; Cynthia Raposo, Esq.; Thomas B. Riford; Carmel Roques; Sharon Whitney; Allyson Black Woodson. Terms expire 2022.

Chanel Compton; Mark Irwin; Alicia Jones McLeod; Heather L. Mitchell, Esq.; Soo Park, M.D.; Nancy Rogers, Ph.D.; Saima A. Sitwat; Guffrie M. Smith, Jr.; Keith Stone. Terms expire 2023.

Kendra Brown; Tiffany McGhee; Kimberly Moffitt, Ph.D.; Jeanne Pirtle; Jennifer Shea. Terms expire 2024.

[photo, 108 West Centre St., Baltimore, Maryland] Lindsey Baker, Executive Director

108 West Centre St., Baltimore, MD 21201 - 4565
(410) 685-0095; fax: (410) 685-0795

108 West Centre St., Baltimore, Maryland, April 2019. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

In 1974, Maryland Humanities formed as the Maryland Committee for the Humanities and Public Policy in response to the federal law creating the National Endowment for the Humanities (P.L. 89-209). The Committee reformed in 1983 as the Maryland Humanities Council, and again in 2016 as Maryland Humanities.

The humanities include archaeology; comparative religion; ethics; history; jurisprudence; literature; philosophy; and the history, criticism, and theory of the arts and related social sciences.

Maryland Humanities creates and supports educational experiences in the humanities that offer Marylanders the chance to embrace lifelong learning, exchange ideas openly, and enrich their communities. Through its programs and grants, the organization encourages public dialogue that interprets human experience, promotes cross-cultural understanding, explores human values, and connects people to the wider world.

A private, nonprofit Maryland corporation, Maryland Humanities is funded by the federal government, the State Department of Education, the Maryland Historical Trust, and by foundations, corporations, and individuals.

The Governor appoints up to six of the twenty-four volunteer members of the Board of Directors.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 25, 2022 Maryland State Archives