Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms:
Vacancy, Chair (chosen by Board of Trustees in July, 1-year term)
George H. Bone, M.D., 2003; Jon S. Frank, 2003; Robert B. Moore, 2003; Karabelle A. L. Pizzigati, Ph.D., 2003; Nancy M. Caliman, 2004; William L. Jews, 2004; Mary Lehman MacDonald, 2004; Beth A. Peters, 2004; Thomas P. Barbera, Esq., 2005; Leonard S. Blondes, 2005; William J. Brogan, 2005; Margaret M. Kline, 2005; Norma L. LaParle, 2005; Nayan R. Shah, M.D., 2005.

Ex officio: Edward J. Kasemeyer, designee of Senate President; Brian K. McHale, designee of House Speaker; Nelson J. Sabatini, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Christopher J. McCabe, Secretary of Human Resources; Alfred W. Redmer, Jr., Maryland Insurance Commissioner.

Marilyn D. Maultsby, Executive Director

c/o Walter P. Carter Center
630 West Fayette St., Room 5626, Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 209-6194; 1-800-458-4162 (toll free); fax: (410) 715-0699

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly (Chapter 180, Acts of 1997).

The Maryland Health Care Foundation was established in 1997 (Chapter 180, Acts of 1997). A nonprofit agency, the Foundation received monies to help fund programs that expand access to health care for Marylanders without health insurance. The Foundation also promoted public awareness of the need to provide timely efficient care for uninsured Marylanders, and advocated statutory and regulatory changes to benefit them. The Foundation received start-up funding from the State, as well as funds from the national tobacco industry settlement of 1998, but its primary source of funding was to be from the for-profit conversions of hospitals and health insurers.

The Foundation's Board of Trustees had nineteen members. Fourteen were appointed to four-year terms by the Governor. Five served ex officio (Code Health - General Article, secs. 20-501 through 20-510).

Due to lack of funds, the Board of Trustees voted in April 2003 to end Foundation operations effective October 1, 2003. By statute, the Foundation was terminated effective June 1, 2004 (Chapter 262, Acts of 2004).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives