Appointed by Board of Directors to 3-year terms:
James K. Leslie, Chair (chosen by Board in Jan., 1-year term), 2007
Steven Dubin, J.D., 2005; David M. Manyak, Ph.D., 2005; John J. Woloszyn, Esq., 2005; J. J. Finkelstein, 2006; Claire M. Fraser, Ph.D., 2006; Bruce K. Hamilton, Ph.D., 2006; Nancy A. Spangler, 2006; Robert I. Scheer, 2007; Stephen J. Trevisan, 2007; two vacancies.

Ex officio: Lawrence C. Mahan, Ph.D., designee of Secretary of Commerce; Jennie C. Hunter-Cevera, Ph.D., designee of President, University System of Maryland; vacancy, designee of President, The Johns Hopkins University.

Brian Gaines, Chief Executive Officer

9210 Corporate Boulevard, Suite 470, Rockville, MD 20850
(240) 243-4036

MdBIO, Inc., began in 1991 as the Maryland Bioprocessing Center, Inc. Its original board of directors was appointed by the Governor in December 1991. The Board renamed the Center as MdBIO, Inc., in July 1997.MdBIO, Inc., merged with the Tech Council of Maryland, Inc., in February 2006 to form a new trade association supporting both life science and advanced technology businesses throughout Maryland with advocacy, networking opportunities and educational initiatives. This new merged association took the name, Tech Council of Maryland.

To support and promote the manufacturing and commercial development of biotechnology in Maryland, MdBIO formerly was a private, nonprofit organization created by industry leaders from across Maryland in conjunction with The Johns Hopkins University, the University System of Maryland, and Maryland State government.

To capitalize on the State's renowned biomedical research base, a "scale-up" biopharmaceutical manufacturing facility was built in East Baltimore at the Bayview Industrial Park, 5901 East Lombard Street. The facility, known as the BioCenter, opened in the summer of 1996. The facility was leased to the BioScience Contract Production Corporation, an independent for-profit contract manufacturing company. Lease payments provided MdBio's main source of revenue for the near term.

Originally appointed by the Governor, MdBIO's Board of Directors became self-perpetuating. It consisted of fifteen members, three serving ex officio.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives