Appointed by Secretary of Health:
Maria A. Maguire, M.D.; Teresa I. Schaefer, Ph.D.; Mary Thompson; Sara B. Visintainer. Terms expire 2021.

Mary B. Bourbon; Shelly L. Neal-Edwards; Anna L. Sierra; Sonia Solans Torres, Ph.D. Terms expire 2022.

Childlene Brooks; Michael R. Clark; Santo A. Grande, Ed.D.; two vacancies. Terms expire 2023.

Christina M. Bartz; Margaret E. Kalmanowicz; Maura A. Manley; one vacancy. Terms expire 2024.

Appointed by Secretary of Health:
Matthew King, M.D.; Beth Ann Langrell; Timothy Shanahan, M.D.; April A. Sharp.

Ex officio (county health officers): vacancy, Caroline County; Roger L. Harrell, Dorchester County; William H. Webb, Kent County; Joseph A. Ciotola, Jr., M.D., Queen Anne's County; Fredia S. Wadley, M.D., Talbot County.

Ex officio: Kenneth D. Kozel, Chief Executive Officer, University of Maryland Shore Regional Health; Sherry B. Perkins, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, Anne Arundel Medical Center; Sara K. Rich, Chief Executive Officer, Choptank Community Health Systems, Inc.

Ronald G. Bialek, Executive Director (chosen by Executive Committee)

c/o Public Health Foundation
1300 L St., NW, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005
(202) 218-4420

Staff: Fredia S. Wadley, M.D.
c/o Talbot County Health Department
100 South Hanson St., Easton, MD 21601
(410) 819-5606

Report to Governor & General Assembly on standards & criteria for approving a rural health complex due Dec. 1, 2020 (Chapter 606, Acts of 2018).

Annual Report to Govenor & General Assembly on health care delivery in mid-dhore region due Dec. 1, beginning 2021 (Chapter 606, Acts of 2018).

In July 2018, the Rural Health Collaborative Pilot was created by the General Assembly (Chapter 606, Acts of 2018).

The Collaborative is to head a regional partnership to build a rural health system in the Mid-Shore Region, encompassing Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's and Talbot counties. The system will access and use health care services for providing health care; aligning with the State's Medicare Waiver; and improving rural health. Further, the Collaborative will mediate disputes within the partnership; assist local health care providers in collaborating; and promote rural economic development in the Mid-Shore Region. In addition, the Collaborative will ensure that county officials and residents are aware of health needs, and available resources in the Mid-Shore Region.

For communities that lack access to essential community-based primary care, behavioral health, dental care, or specialty care, the Collaborative will work to establish rural health complexes. After assessing local needs, identifying care delivery models, and building concensus on the local level, the Collaborative will recommend to the Secretary of Health the building of a rural health complex.

The Collaborative has between twenty-nine and thirty-five members appointed by the Secretary of Health. The twelve members of the Executive Committee also are members of the Collaborative.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 10, 2020 Maryland State Archives