George Patrick Maloney, Chair (chosen by Governor), 2017

Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms: Danielle Copeland, 2011; Jean C. Drummond, 2011; Theresa A. Daytner, 2012; Roderick Easter, 2012; Stuart M. Bounds, 2014; Barbara R. Denman, 2014; Irene M. Zoppi Rodriguez, Ph.D., 2014; H. Walter Townshend III, 2015; Tina M. Bjarekull, 2016; Francis J. (Jack) Russell, 2016; C. Gail Bassette, 2017; Paolo Moya, 2017; Anthony R. Sarmiento, 2017.

Ex officio: R. Michael Gill, Secretary of Commerce; Sam Malhotra, Secretary of Human Resources; Sam J. Abed, Secretary of Juvenile Services; Kelly M. Schulz, Secretary of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation; Jack R. Smith, Ph.D., Interim State Superintendent of Schools; James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education; Robert L. Caret, Ph.D., Chancellor, University System of Maryland; Louis M. Dubin, Chair, Governor's Workforce Development Board; Bernard J. Sadusky, Ed.D., Executive Director, Maryland Association of Community Colleges.

Andrew Moser, President (chosen by Board)

406 Headquarters Drive, Suite 207, Millersville, MD 21108
(410) 729-0007; fax: (410) 729-0780

In July 2009, the Maryland Workforce Corporation was created as a public instrumentality of the State (Chapter 476, Acts of 2009; Code Labor & Employment Article, secs. 11-1001 through 11-1014).

The Corporation worked to establish a plan and framework for innovative statewide workforce programs that ensure Maryland workers have educational opportunities to acquire those skills required in the workforce. This effort was made in conjunction with the Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation and other State agencies. To assure a reliable funding stream for such programs, the Corporation solicited, acquired, and coordinated private and public funding. In accordance with its plan, the Corporation administered and evaluated the programs it developed, and contracted with training providers to conduct skills training and education programs.

Because the Maryland Workforce Corporation was unable to sustain itself financially, it ceased operations in December 2014, and was abolished effective July 1, 2016 (Chapter 345, Acts of 2016).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives