[photo, Gregory I. Slater, Maryland Secretary of Transportation] GREGORY I. SLATER
Secretary of Transportation, 2020-21

Secretary of Transportation, February 7, 2020 to January 11, 2022 (Acting Secretary, January 14 to February 7, 2020). State Highway Administrator, 2017-20.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2020-22; Commerce Subcabinet, 2020-22; Governor's Subcabinet for International Affairs, 2020-22; Maryland Subcabinet for Public-Private Partnerships, 2020-22; Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2020-22. Chair, Maryland Aviation Commission, 2020-22; Maryland Zero Emission Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council, 2020-22; Maryland Port Commission, 2020-22; Maryland Transportation Authority, 2020-22; Executive Committee, Transportation Enhancements Program, 2020-22. Co-Chair, Executive Committee for Dredged Material Management Plans, 2020-22. Member, Interagency Committee on Aging Services, 2020-22; Asbestos Oversight Committee, 2020-22; Baltimore Regional Transportation Board, 2020-22; Capital Debt Affordability Committee, 2020-22; Chesapeake Bay Bridge Reconstruction Advisory Group, 2020-22; Climate, Energy and Environment Policy Committee of Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, 2020-22; Commission on Climate Change, 2020-22; Coast Smart Council, 2020-22; Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2020-22; Commission on State Debt, 2020-22; Interagency Disabilities Board, 2020-22; Maryland Cybersecurity Coordinating Council, 2020-22; Maryland Economic Development Corporation, 2020-22; Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities, 2020-22; Maryland Green Building Council, 2020-22; Maryland Green Purchasing Committee, 2020-22; Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, 2020-22; Maryland Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, 2020-22; Interagency Council on Homelessness, 2020-22; State Coordinating Committee for Human Services Transportation, 2020-22; Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee, 2020-22; Statewide Interoperability Radio Control Board, 2020-22; Invasive Plants Advisory Committee, 2020-22; Maryland Military Installation Council, 2020-22; Council on Open Data, 2020-22; Patuxent River Commission, 2020-22; Pricing and Selection Committee for Blind Industries and Services of Maryland and the Employment Works Program, 2020-22. Board of Visitors, R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, University of Maryland Medical System, 2020-22. Member, Interagency Committee on Specialized Transportation, 2020-22; State Center Executive Committee, 2020-22; Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission, 2020; Washington Suburban Transit Commission, 2020-22; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee on Small, Minority, and Women Business Affairs, 2020-22; Procurement Improvement Council, 2020-22; Task Force to Study Transportation Access, 2020-22; Historic St. Mary’s City Fort to 400 Commission, 2021-22.

Deputy Administrator for Planning, Engineering, Real Estate, and Environment, 2016-17. Technology Coordinator, Geographic and Survey Information Systems, Office of Highway Development, 1999-2007. Chief, Technical Design Division, State Highway Administrator, 2007-08. Director, Planning and Preliminary Engineering, State Highway Administrator, 2008-16.

Chair, State Highway Access Valuation Board, 2017-20; State Roads Commission, 2017-20. Member, Transportation Enhancements Program Executive Committee, 2017-20.

Executive Director and CEO, Tampa Hillsborough Expressway Authority, 2022-.

Born June 13, 1970. Towson University, B.S. (geography & environmental planning), 1997.; National Leadership Institute, University of Maryland University College, 2007. G.I.S. Analyst, Sidhu Associates, 1997-99. Leadership Maryland, Class of 2015. Chair, Committee on Data Management and Analytics, Eastern Transportation Coalition Executive Board; American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. Chair, National Conference on Transportation Asset Management, Transportation Research Board; National Academy of Sciences. Chair, Data Subcommittee, Standing Committee on Planning, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. Member, Transportation Research Board; American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials; Advisory Panel for Federal Highway Administration Transportation Performance Management Guidebook. Trailblazer for Quality Team Award, American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials, 2001. Outstanding Contributions to GIS in Maryland Award, Towson University Annual GIS Conference, 2007. Presidential Citation, Maryland Society of Surveyors, 2008. Partner in Quality Award – NEPA Commitments, Federal Highway Administration DelMar Division, 2013. Partner in Quality Award – PEL Program, Federal Highway Administration DelMar Division, 2014. President’s Award, American Council of Engineering Companies/Maryland, 2019. Government Administrator of the Year for Minority Business Enterprise, Maryland, Washington Minority Companies Association, 2020. Lester P. Lamm Memorial Award, The Road Gang, 2021. Married; two children.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives