[photo, Peter K. Rahn, Maryland Secretary of Transportation] PETE K. RAHN
Secretary of Transportation, 2015-20
Acting Secretary of Transportation 2015

Secretary of Transportation, March 13, 2015 to January 13, 2020. Acting Secretary of Transportation, January 21 to March 13, 2015.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2015-20; Commerce Subcabinet, 2015-20; Governor's Subcabinet for International Affairs, 2015-20; Maryland Subcabinet for Public-Private Partnerships, 2015-20; Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2015-20. Chair, Maryland Aviation Commission, 2015-20; Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council, 2015-20; Maryland Port Commission, 2015-20; Maryland Transportation Authority, 2015-20; Executive Committee, Transportation Enhancements Program, 2015-20. Co-Chair, Executive Committee for Dredged Material Management Plans, 2015-20.

Member, Maryland State Drug and Alcohol Abuse Council, 2015; Maryland War of 1812 Bicentennial Commission, 2015; Climate Change Commission, 2015-16; Task Force on the Disposition of the Crownsville Hospital Center Property, 2015-16; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for Minority Affairs, 2015-17; Transportation Professional Services Selection Board, 2015-17; Procurement Advisory Council, 2015-19. Member, Interagency Committee on Aging Services, 2015-20; Asbestos Oversight Committee, 2015-20; Baltimore Regional Transportation Board, 2015-20; Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee, 2015-20; Capital Debt Affordability Committee, 2015-20; Climate, Energy and Environment Policy Committee, 2015-20, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments; Coast Smart Council, 2015-20; Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2015-20; Commission on State Debt, 2015-20; Interagency Disabilities Board, 2015-20; Maryland Economic Development Corporation, 2015-20; Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities, 2015-20; Maryland Green Building Council, 2015-20; Maryland Green Purchasing Committee, 2015-20; Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, 2015-20; Maryland Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, 2015-20; Chair, Aviation Consumer Protection Advisory Committee, U.S. Department of Transportation, 2018-19.

Treasurer, San Juan County, New Mexico, 1981-85. Chair, Planning and Zoning Commission, Farmington, New Mexico, 1989-95.

Secretary of State Highway and Transportation Department, New Mexico, 1995-2002. Director, Department of Transportation, Missouri, 2004-10. Chair, State Transportation Commission, New Mexico, 2011-15.

New Mexico State University, B.A. (government), 1976, B.S. (planning), 1977. Territory Manager, Burroughs Corp., B.F.D., 1977-79. Manager, Better Business Bureau/Four Corners, Farmington, New Mexico, 1979-81. Chair, Board of Directors, Better Business Bureau/Four Corners, 1983-84, 1992-93. Executive Director, San Juan College Foundation, 1985-89. Corporate Vice-President, Kysar Insurance Agency, 1989-95. Vice-President of Governmental Relations, Contech Construction Products, Inc., 2002-04. Senior Vice-President, HNTB Corp., 2010-15. President, New Mexico Association of Counties, 1984-85. President, New Mexico State University Support Council, 1992-94. President, Western Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, 1999-2000. Co-Chair, National Partnership for Highway Quality, 2001-02. Member, Executive Committee, Transportation Research Board, 2006-10 (task force on accelerating innovation in highway industry, 1999-2009). President, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, 2007-08 (past member, board of directors, committee on funding & finance; chair, standing committee on highway traffic safety; chair, standing committee on performance management, 2006-10). Board of Directors, The Road Information Project, 2012-20; Northeast Association of State Transportation Officials, 2015- (vice-president, 2015-18; president, 2018-19). Paul Harris Fellow, Rotary International Foundation, 1998. Public Official of the Year, New Mexico Chapter, American Public Works Association, 2000. Vision Award, National Council on Public Private Partnerships, 2008. Public Official of the Year, Governing, 2009. Lester P. Lamm Memorial Award, The Washington Road Gang, 2010. Community Improvement Award, Missouri Growth Association, 2010. Transportation Leadership Award, Design-Build Institute of America, 2010. Married; two children.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives