[photo, James F. Ports, Jr., Maryland Secretary of Transportation] JAMES F. PORTS, JR.
Secretary of Transportation, 2022-23

Secretary of Transportation, January 11, 2022 to January 25, 2023. Executive Director, Maryland Transportation Authority, June 27, 2019 to January 11, 2022. Deputy Secretary for Operations, January 27, 2015 to June 27, 2019. Chair, Maryland Transit Administration Stakeholder Work Group, 2015. Member, Chesapeake Bay Bridge Reconstruction Advisory Group, 2020-22.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2022-23; Commerce Subcabinet, 2022-23; Governor's Subcabinet on Infrastructure, 2022-23; Governor's Subcabinet for International Affairs, 2022-23; Maryland Subcabinet for Public-Private Partnerships, 2022-23; Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2022-23. Chair, Maryland Aviation Commission, 2022-23; Maryland Zero Emission Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council, 2022-23; Maryland Port Commission, 2022-23; Maryland Transportation Authority, 2022-23; Executive Committee, Transportation Enhancements Program, 2022-23. Co-Chair, Executive Committee for Dredged Material Management Plans, 2022-23.

Member, Interagency Committee on Aging Services, 2022-23; Asbestos Oversight Committee, 2022-23; Baltimore Regional Transportation Board, 2022-23; Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee, 2022-23; Capital Debt Affordability Committee, 2022-23; Chesapeake Bay Bridge Reconstruction Advisory Group, 2022-23; Climate, Energy and Environment Policy Committee of Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, 2022-23; Commission on Climate Change, 2022-23; Coast Smart Council, 2022-23; Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2022-23; Commission on State Debt, 2022-23; Interagency Disabilities Board, 2022-23; Maryland Cybersecurity Coordinating Council, 2022-23; Maryland Economic Development Corporation, 2022-23; Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities, 2022-23; Maryland Green Building Council, 2022-23; Maryland Green Purchasing Committee, 2022-23; Maryland Commission on Health Equity, 2022-23; Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, 2022-23; Maryland Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, 2022-23; Historic St. Mary’s City Fort to 400 Commission, 2022-23; Interagency Council on Homelessness, 2022-23; State Coordinating Committee for Human Services Transportation, 2022-23; Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee, 2022-23; Statewide Interoperability Radio Control Board, 2022-23; Invasive Plants Advisory Committee, 2022-23; Maryland Military Installation Council, 2022-23; Council on Open Data, 2022-23; Patuxent River Commission, 2022-23; Pricing and Selection Committee for Blind Industries and Services of Maryland and the Employment Works Program, 2022-23; Principals' Staff Committee to Chesapeake Executive Council, 2022-23; Procurement Improvement Council, 2022-23. Board of Visitors, R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, University of Maryland Medical System, 2022-23. Member, Interdepartmental Advisory Committee on Small, Minority, and Women Business Affairs, 2022-23; Interagency Committee on Specialized Transportation, 2022-23; Task Force to Study Transportation Access, 2022. Board of Directors, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, 2022-23. Member, Washington Suburban Transit Commission, 2022-23; West North Avenue Development Authority, 2022-23.

Member of House of Delegates (Republican), representing District 8, Baltimore County and Baltimore City, January 9, 1991 to January 8, 2003. Minority Whip, 2001-03. Member, Constitutional and Administrative Law Committee, 1991-92; Ways and Means Committee, 1992-2003 (finance resources subcommittee, 1994-96; education subcommittee, 1997-98; transportation subcommittee, 1999-2003; vice-chair's subcommittee, 2000-03); Joint Transportation Financing Committee (Transportation 2000), 1994; Special Joint Committee on Competitive Taxation and Economic Development, 1996-97; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2002; Legislative Policy Committee, 2002-03; Rules and Executive Nominations Committee, 2002-03. Member, National Task Force on Energy, Environment, and Natural Resources, American Legislative Exchange Council, 1991-2003 (vice-chair, energy subcommittee).

Member, Transit Policy Panel, 2000; Baltimore Region Rail System Plan Advisory Committee, 2001-02; Public Safety Communications Interoperability Governance Work Group, 2003-08. Assistant Secretary for Administration, Department of Transportation, 2003-04. Deputy Secretary, Department of Transportation, 2004-07. Member, Homeland Security Senior Policy Group, 2004-07.

Deputy Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2007-09.

Administrator, Harford Transit, Harford County, 2009-15.

Member, Citizens Advisory Committee on Recycling, Baltimore County, 1992-95.

Born in Baltimore, Maryland, December 1, 1958. Attended Perry Hall Senior High School, Baltimore, Maryland. Sergeant, U.S. Marine Corps, 1978-82 (Expeditionary Medal, Marine of the Month). Essex Community College, A.A., 1989. Former supervisor, Industrial and Commercial Gas Field Operations (South), Baltimore Gas and Electric Company. Licensed as registered representative, National Association of Security Dealers, insurance agent, and gas fitter, Baltimore City. Vice-President, Northeast Fullerton Community Association, 1986-90. Member, 8th District Republican Club, 1988-. Member, Baltimore County Republican Central Committee, 1989-90, 2003-06. Delegate, Republican Party National Convention, 2000. Member, Rossville Democratic Association; Taxpayers for Government Efficiency; Essex Community College Alumni Association; Competent Toastmaster, Toastmasters International; Phi Theta Kappa. Associate member, Lodge no. 76, Fraternal Order of Police. Commander, Perry Hall/White Marsh Post no. 11378, Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW), 1992-94; life member, Parkville Memorial Post no. 9083. Honorary co-chair, co-founder, Perry Hall High School Alumni Association. Received awards from: People Against Child Abuse; Maryland School for the Blind; Baltimore County Police Department; Tall Cedars of Lebanon. Outstanding Young Marylander of the Year, Maryland Jaycees, 1996. General James P. S. Devereux Award, Maryland Society, Sons of the American Revolution, 1997. Legislator of the Year, American Legislative Exchange Council, 2001. Married; three children.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright March 13, 2023 Maryland State Archives