[photo, Joseph Bartenfelder, Maryland Secretary of Agriculture JOSEPH BARTENFELDER
Secretary of Agriculture, 2015-23

Secretary of Agriculture, February 13, 2015 to January 11, 2023. Acting Secretary of Agriculture, January 21 to February 13, 2015.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2015-23; Governor's Council on the Chesapeake Bay (Governor's Chesapeake Bay Cabinet), 2015-23; Governor's Subcabinet for International Affairs, 2015-23; Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2015-23. Chair, Governor's Intergovernmental Commission for Agriculture, 2015-23; Animal Waste Technology Fund Advisory Committee, 2015-23; Phosphorus Management Tool Transition Advisory Committee, 2015-23; Renewable Fuels Incentive Board, 2015-23. Member, Board of Regents, University System of Maryland, 2015-23.

Board of Directors, Maryland Agricultural and Resource-Based Industry Development Corporation, 2015-23. Member, Maryland Agricultural Education and Rural Development Assistance Board, 2015-23; Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation, 2015-23; Bay Restoration Fund Advisory Committee, 2015-23; Chesapeake Bay Trust, 2015-23; Leadership Team, Maryland Partnership for Children in Nature, 2015-17; Climate Change Commission, 2015-16; Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2015-23; State Children's Environmental Health and Protection Advisory Council, 2015-23; Maryland Food Center Authority, 2015-23; Interagency Food Desert Advisory Committee, 2015-23; Maryland Horse Industry Board, 2015-23; Invasive Plants Advisory Committee, 2015-23; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for Minority Affairs, 2015-17; Council on Open Data, 2015-23; Pesticide Advisory Committee, 2015-23; Rural Legacy Board, 2015-23; Rural Maryland Council, 2015-23; Scenic and Wild Rivers Review Board, 2015-23; Seafood Marketing Advisory Commission, 2015-23; State Soil Conservation Committee, 2015-23; Spay/Neuter Advisory Board, 2015-23; Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission, 2015-20; Maryland Wine and Grape Promotion Council, 2015-17; Commission on Climate Change, 2016-23; Work Group on Health in All Policies, 2017-19; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee on Small, Minority, and Women Business Affairs, 2017-23; Governor's Task Force on Renewable Energy Development and Siting, 2019-23; Maryland Efficient Grant Application Council, 2020-23; Task Force to Study Canine Breeding Facilities and Sourcing Standards, 2021; Commission for the Innovation & Advancement of Carbon Markets & Sustainable Tree Plantings, 2021-23. Co-Vice-Chair, Maryland Food System Resiliency Council, 2021-23.

Member of House of Delegates (Democrat), representing District 8, Baltimore County, 1983-94. Deputy Majority Whip. Member, Judiciary Committee, 1983-87; Appropriations Committee, 1988-94 (education & human resources subcommittee); Special House Committee on Drug and Alcohol Abuse, 1990-91, Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds, 1990-92; Joint Expenditure Study Group on Law Enforcement and Transportation, 1991. Chair, Baltimore County Delegation.

Member, County Council, Baltimore County (Democrat), representing Councilmanic District 6, December 1994 to December 6, 2010 (chair, 1997, 2000, 2005, 2009). Chair, Spending Affordability Committee, Baltimore County. Chair, Advisory Board to Baltimore Metropolitan Council, 1996.

Member, Maryland Pesticide Reporting and Information Work Group, 2013-15; Governor-elect's Transition Team, 2014-15.

Born in Baltimore, Maryland, January 3, 1957. Attended Calvert Hall College High School, Baltimore; Towson State University, B.S. (business administration), 1978. Manager of family farm (retail & wholesale) at Fullerton and Preston, 1978-. Teacher, Baltimore County public schools, 1979-81. Sponsor, Overlea Fullerton Recreation Council; member of 11 Democratic and civic clubs in the district. Member, Calvert Hall Chips Scholarship Program; Calvert Hall Alumni Association; Towson State University Alumni Association; Baltimore County Fanned Produce Association; Maryland Farm Bureau; Young Farmers Group of Maryland Farm Bureau. Overlea High School Gratitude Award, Parents Booster Club, 2000. Award for generous support for technology, Villa Cresta Elementary School, 2000. Appreciation Award, Lodge no. 25, Fraternal Order of Police, 2000. Life Service Award, South Perry Hall Boulevard, 2002. Outstanding Service Award, Community College of Baltimore County, 2002. President's Award, Essex-Middle River-White Marsh Chamber of Commerce, 2003. Elected area delegate, St. Joseph's Parish Council. Married; four children.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 15, 2023 Maryland State Archives