Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms: Craig A. Moe, 2003; Richard L. Yinger, 2003; Gordon A. Aoyagi, 2004; James S. Potts, 2004; James P. G. Flynn, M.D., 2005; James V. Aluisi, 2005; Roger C. Simonds, Sr., 2005.

Representing Governor's Office: not yet appointed

Ex officio: Kendl P. Philbrick, Secretary of the Environment; Boyd K. Rutherford, Secretary of General Services; S. Anthony McCann, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Thomas E. (Tim) Hutchins, Secretary of State Police; Robert L. Flanagan, Secretary of Transportation; Maj. Gen. Bruce F. Tuxill, Adjutant General; Robert R. Bass, M.D., Executive Director, Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems.

Contact: Dennis R. Schrader, Director, Governor's Office of Homeland Security

c/o Governor's Office of Homeland Security
Jeffrey Building
16 Francis St.
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 974-2389
fax: (410) 974-2599

The Maryland Security Council was established within the Executive Department in March 2002 (Chapter 4, Acts of 2002). The Council advised and assisted the Governor to ensure that the State was able to detect, prevent, prepare for, respond to, and recover from emergencies.

Emergencies considered by the Council were to include natural disasters, such as hurricanes, tornadoes, storms, floods, landslides, mudslides, snowstorms, droughts, and fires. They also were to involve acts of sabotoge or terrorism.

The Council worked with State, local and federal agencies, private entities, and the governments of other states to develop coordinated emergency plans. Periodically, it reviewed such plans and recommends revisions. The Council also made sure that State agencies were kept informed about the State's emergency management strategy.

Of the Council's fifteen members, seven were appointed to three-year terms by the Governor, who designated the chair. One member represented the Governor's Office. Eight members served ex officio (Code State Government Article, secs. 9-2501 through 9-2509).

Effective October 1, 2005, the Council was abolished (Chapter 181, Acts of 2005).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 09, 2017 Maryland State Archives