[photo, Stephen W. Lafferty, Maryland State Delegate] STEPHEN W. LAFFERTY
Democrat, District 42A, Baltimore County

Member of House of Delegates, January 10, 2007 to September 6, 2019 (representing District 42, 2007-15; District 42A, January 14, 2015 to September 6, 2019). Member, Environmental Matters Committee, 2007-15 (ground rent work group, 2007; housing & real property subcommittee, 2007-10; land use & ethics subcommittee, 2007-15; local government & bi-county subcommittee, 2007-15; environment subcommittee, 2011-15); Joint Audit Committee, 2011-18; Joint Committee on the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Area, 2011-19. Deputy Majority Whip, 2014-19. Member, Environment and Transportation Committee, 2015-19 (natural resources, agriculture & open space committee, 2019; chair, environment subcommittee, 2019, member, 2015-19; chair, land use & ethics subcommittee, 2015-18). Chair, Regional Revitalization Work Group, 2015-19 (member, 2013-19); Study Group on Economic Security, 2019. Chair, Baltimore County Delegation, 2015-18 (vice-chair, 2011-15).

Member, Task Force to Study Group Home Education and Placement Practices, 2007-08; Oyster Advisory Commission, 2007-12. Co-Chair, Task Force on the Membership and Operation of the Baltimore County Board of Education, 2011. Member, Task Force on Sustainable Growth and Wastewater Disposal, 2011; Joint Legislative and Executive Commission on Oversight of Public-Private Partnerships, 2011-12; Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission, 2011-19 (co-chair, neighborhood stabilization & homeownership work group, 2014); Maryland Agricultural Nonpoint Trading Advisory Committee, 2012-15; Maryland Smart Growth Investment Fund Work Group, 2013-14. Co-Chair, Maryland Pesticide Reporting and Information Work Group, 2013-15. Member, Phosphorus Management Tool Transition Advisory Committee, 2015-19; Maryland Water Quality Trading Advisory Committee, 2016-; Task Force to Study Bicycle Safety on Maryland Highways, 2017-18; Lead Testing in School Drinking Water Work Group, 2017; Maryland Affordable Housing Trust, 2018-19; Chesapeake Bay Commission, 2019.

Member, Commission on Indian Affairs, 1976-80; Human Relations Commission, Baltimore County, 1989-90; Planning Board, Baltimore County, 1990-95; State Commission on Neighborhoods, 1995-96.

Manager, Neighborhood Revitalization, Office of Community Conservation, Baltimore County, 1995-99. Director, Special Projects and Planning, Division of Neighborhood Revitalization, Department of Housing and Community Development, 1999-2003. Director of Special Projects, Department of Planning and Zoning, Howard County, 2008-15 (deputy director, 2003-08).

Chief Sustainability Officer, Baltimore County, 2019-21. Member, Solid Waste Work Group, Baltimore County, 2020-. Director, Department of Planning, Baltimore County, 2021-.

Born in Washington, DC, February 28, 1949. University of Maryland College Park, B.A. (american studies), 1971; Bowling Green State University, M.A. (american studies), 1972; Towson State University, teacher's certificate (secondary education), 1977. Teacher (mathematics & social studies), Baltimore City Public Schools, 1974-78. Executive director & assistant director, Baltimore American Indian Center, Inc., 1978-80. University of Baltimore School of Law, J.D., 1983. Admitted to Maryland Bar, 1983. Attorney, William J. Blondell, Jr., Chartered, 1983-89. General Counsel, Public Justice Center, Inc., 1989-90. Attorney, Irwin M. Sussman, P.A., 1990-92; Margolis Pritzker & Epstein, P.A., 1992-95. President, Towson Transit Management Association, 1988-89. Community representative, Greater Towson Council of Community Associations, 1986-97 (president, 1989-91; vice-president, 1987-88). President, Community Assistance Network, 1991-92 (board member, 1988-93). Board of Directors, East Towson Coalition, Inc., 1993-95. Board of Trustees, Timothy House, Inc. (senior citizen housing), 1993-2000 (president, 1996-2000). Steering committee member, Citizens Planning and Housing Association on the Region, 1996-2000. Member, Baltimore County Democratic Central Committee, 1997-98. Chair, Community Conservation Committee, The Towson Partnership, 1998-2001 (board of directors, 1992-96). Board of Directors, Pro Bono Counseling Project, 1999-2001. President, Central Baltimore County Democratic Club, 1999-2003. Member, Towson Commercial Revitalization Task Force, 2003. Board of Directors, Save A Neighborhood, Inc., 2003-05. Founding Board member, NeighborSpace of Baltimore County, Inc., 2003-06. Board of Directors, Rebuilding Together in Howard County, 2004-06. Steering Committee, Tomorrow's Towson, 2005-; Towson Urban Design Assistance Team, 2006-. Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 2016. Advisory Board, Maryland Center for Character Education. Municipal Super Star, Maryland Municipal League, 2009 (certificate of appreciation, 2008, 2010). Maryland Legislative Champion Award, Chesapeake Bay Foundation, 2009.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives