[photo, C. Sue Hecht, State Delegate] C. SUE HECHT
Democrat, District 3A, Frederick County

Member of House of Delegates, January 11, 1995 to January 8, 2003, and January 10, 2007 to January 12, 2011. Member, Appropriations Committee, 1995-2003 (public safety & administration subcommittee, 1995-99; oversight committee on program open space & agricultural land preservation, 1995-2003; capital budget subcommittee, 1997-2003; oversight committee on personnel, 1997-2003; vice-chair, transportation & the environment subcommittee, 1999-2003). Member, Special Committee on School Enrollment Management, 1996-97. Deputy Majority Whip, 1998-2003. Member, Economic Matters Committee, 2007-11 (banking, economic development, science & technology subcommittee, 2007-11; consumer protection & commercial law work group, 2007-11; deathcare industry work group, 2007-11; public utilities work group, 2007-11); Joint Information Technology and Biotechnology Committee, 2009-11. Member, Joint Technology Oversight Committee, 2007-09. Deputy Majority Whip, 2010. Member, Women Legislators of Maryland, 1995-2003, 2007- (endorsement committee, 2001-03, legislative committee, 2001-03; 1st vice-president 1998-99; president-elect, 1999-2000; president, 2000-01).

Member, Commission for Women (political committee), Frederick County, 1993-95; Affordable Housing Commission, Frederick County, 1993-95. Member, Family Violence Council, 1995-2002 (co-chair, legislative action team, 1996-2002). Co-Chair, Task Force on Funding for the Maryland School for the Deaf, 1996. Member, Governor's Flood Mitigation Task Force for Western Maryland, 1996-2002; Child-Care Administration Advisory Council, 1998-2000; Special Commission on State Parks, 1999-2000; Maryland Alternative Dispute Resolution Commission, 1999-2002; Virginia-Maryland-District of Columbia Joint Legislative Commission on Interstate Transportation, 2000-02; Advisory Board, Maryland Mediation and Conflict Resolution Office, 2001-03; Transportation Services Advisory Council, Frederick County, 2006-; Workforce Creation and Adult Education Transition Council, 2008.

Born in Takoma Park, Maryland, December 7, 1947. Attended Frederick Community College; Hood College, B.A. (management), 1985 (recipient, beneficial-hodson scholarship for academic excellence, 1983-85); Frostburg State University, M.B.A., 1992. Adjunct Professor, Frostburg State University, 1997-98. Freelance writer, Damascus/Mt. Airy Gazette, 1983-85. Program specialist, Frederick Job Training Agency, 1985-86. Executive Director, Heartly House, Inc., a private nonprofit organization, 1986-97, 2003-06. Board member, Women's Alliance of Maryland, 1986-96; Maryland Coalition Against Sexual Assault, 1986-96. Member, Frederick County Consortium of Human Service Providers, 1987-96; Coordinating Authority for People Services (CAPS), 1989-91; Frederick County Domestic Violence Task Force (co-founder), 1989-. Chair, Frederick County Red Ribbon Non-Profit Task Force, 1991. Division Chair, Agency Campaign, Frederick County United Way, 1991-92 (current member, development committee). Board member, SanMar Children's Home. Member, Carroll Creek Rotary Club, 1992-96. President, Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence, 1991-93 (member, 1986-). Member, United Democrats of Frederick County, 1994-; Plowmen and Fishermen Club, 1994-. Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008. Vice-Chair, Democratic State Central Committee, 2002-06. Outstanding Legislator Award, Advocates for Retarded Citizens (ARC), 1996. Dorothy Beatty Memorial Award, Women's Law Center of Maryland, 1997. Award, Maryland Correctional Administrators' Association, 1997. Outstanding Legislator, Women's Alliance of Maryland, 1997. Award of Appreciation, Maryland School for the Deaf, 1997. President's Citation, Smoke-Free Maryland Coalition, 1997. Honor Roll, Maryland Food Committee and Action for the Homeless, 1997. Citation, Governor's Flood Mitigation Task Force for Western Maryland, 1997. Commendation, Secretary of State Police, 1997. Outstanding Legislator, Maryland Chapter, National Association of Social Workers, 1998. Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, 1998, 2000, 2002 (Circle of Excellence). Award of Appreciation, Maryland State Bar Association, 2001. Service Award, Maryland Mediation and Conflict Resolution Commission, 2002. Peace Crafter Award, CALM, The Frederick Mediation Center, 2004. Vision of Character Award, Frederick Character Counts! Council, 2005. Paul Harris Fellow Award, Rotary Club International, 2005. Marbury Outstanding Advocate Award, Maryland Legal Services Corporation, 2006. Government Leadership Award, American Solar Energy Society, 2008. Consumer Legislator of the Year, Maryland Consumer Rights Coalition, 2009. Married; two children.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives