[photo, Norman H. Conway, State Delegate] NORMAN H. CONWAY
Democrat, District 38B, Wicomico & Worcester Counties

Member of House of Delegates, January 14, 1987 to January 14, 2015. Member, Ways and Means Committee, 1987-90 (chair, pupil transportation subcommittee; community colleges subcommittee). House Chair, Joint Subcommittee on Education, 1989. Member, Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds, 1990-93, 1995-2004; Joint Expenditure Study Group on Education and Human Resources, 1991; Joint Oversight Committee on Juvenile Services Initiatives, 1993; Spending Affordability Committee, 1993-2015 (chair, 2002); Rules and Executive Nominations Committee, 1995-2015; Special Joint Committee on Competitive Taxation and Economic Development, 1996-97; Special Committee on School Enrollment Management, 1996-97; Special Committee on Rail Mergers, 1997; Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 1999-2004; Speaker's Advisory Committee on Legislative Redistricting, 2001-02; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2002. House Chair, Department of Natural Resources Special Funds Work Group, 2002-03. Vice-Chair, Special Committee on Higher Education Affordability and Accessibility, 2003-04. Chair, Appropriations Committee, 2003-15 (vice-chair, 1995-2003; public safety & administration subcommittee, 2003; oversight committee on pensions, 2003; oversight committee on personnel, 1993; transportation & the environment subcommittee, 1996-2002; chair, human resources & public safety subcommittee, 1993-94; chair, capital budget subcommittee, 1996-2003). Member, Legislative Policy Committee, 2003-15 (management subcommittee, 2005-15). House Co-Chair, Agricultural Stewardship Commission, 2005-06. Member, Joint Legislative Work Group to Study State, County and Municipal Fiscal Relationships, 2009-10. Chair, Wicomico County Delegation, 1995-2002. Chair, Eastern Shore Delegation, 1997-2002. Member, Maryland Rural Caucus, 2002-15.

Member, City Council, City of Salisbury, 1974-87 (president, 1982-87). Member, Airport Commission, Wicomico County, 1974-85; Recreation Commission, Wicomico County, 1985-87. Member, Governor's Volunteer Council, 1992-94; Citizens Advisory Board for Holly Center, 1992-97; Governor's Task Force to Reform the State Personnel Management System, 1995-96; Citizens Advisory Board for Deer's Head Center, 1996-2004; Task Force on Education Funding Equity, Accountability, and Partnerships, 1997-98; Task Force to Study the Governance, Coordination, and Funding of the University System of Maryland, 1998-99; Maryland Comprehensive Transit Plan Transit Advisory Panel, 1998-99; Governor's Task Force on Eastern Shore Economic Development, 1999-2001; Commission on Education Finance, Equity, and Excellence, 1999-2002; Tri-County Council for the Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland, 2001-15; Advisory Board, Institute for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement, Salisbury University, 2002-; Transportation Task Force, 2003; Drug Treatment Court Commission, 2003-06. Presidential Elector, Maryland, 2004. Member, Lower Eastern Shore Children's Center Advisory Board, 2005-; Truancy Court Work Group, 2007-08; Commission to Develop the Maryland Model for Funding Higher Education, 2007-09; Drug Treatment Court Oversight Committee, 2007-15; College Success Task Force, P-20 Leadership Council of Maryland, 2009-10. Member, Local [Video Lottery] Development Council, Worcester County, 2009-14; Southern Regional Education Board, 2012-15 (legislative advisory council, 2008-15). Advisory Board, Institute for a Healthiest Maryland, 2012-15.

Board of Trustees, Blind Industries and Services of Maryland, 2016-22. Member, Judicial Compensation Commission, 2017-21.

Born in Salisbury, Maryland, January 11, 1942. Attended Wicomico County public schools; Salisbury State College, B.S. (education), 1965, M.Ed. (education administration), 1970. Teacher, vice-principal, principal, Pinehurst Elementary School, 1965-86. Supervisor, Chapter I programs, Wicomico County Board of Education, 1986-2004. Member, Democratic Central Committee, Wicomico County, 1970-74. President, Wicomico County Volunteer Firemen's Association, 1986. Vice-President, District 1, Maryland Municipal League, 1982-86. Member, Station 2, Salisbury Volunteer Fire Department. Outstanding Young Educator, Salisbury Jaycees, 1970; Sears' Citizen of Year, 1976; Firefighter of the Year, Veterans of Foreign Wars, 1986. Legislator Recognition Award, Maryland Association of Counties, 1997. John R. Hargreaves Distinguished Legislative Fellow Award, Institute for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement, Salisbury University, 2004. Municipal Super Star, Maryland Municipal League, 2009, 2010, 2011 (certificate of appreciation, 2008). Paul S. Sarbanes Distinguished Service Award, Wicomico County Democratic Central Committee, 2016. Thomas Kennedy Award, House of Delegates, 2020. Married.

To honor Delegate Conway, Salisbury University renamed its Teacher Education and Technology Center as Conway Hall on April 26, 2016.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 07, 2022 Maryland State Archives