[photo, Theodore J. Sophocleus, Maryland State Delegate] THEODORE J. SOPHOCLEUS (1939-2018)
Democrat, District 32, Anne Arundel County

Member of House of Delegates, 1993-95, and January 13, 1999 to June 8, 2018. Member, Appropriations Committee, 2007-18 (public safety & administration subcommittee, 2007-12; oversight committee on personnel, 2007-18; capital budget subcommittee, 2015-18; vice-chair, health & human resources subcommittee, 2015-17, member, 2013-17; vice-chair, health & social services subcommittee, 2017-18). Member, Ways and Means Committee, 1993; Commerce and Government Matters Committee, 1994-95, 1999-2003 (financial institutions subcommittee, 1999-2003; state government and procurement subcommittee, 1999-2003); Judiciary Committee, 2003-06 (chair, family law subcommittee, 2003-06). Deputy Majority Whip, 2003-06. Chair, Anne Arundel County Delegation, 2016, 2018 (chair, capital projects subcommittee, & legislative network/united black caucus, 2005; vice-chair, 2014-15; member, alcohol committee, 2018; capital budget committee, 2018). Member, Maryland Legislative Sportsmen's Caucus, 2001-18; Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Caucus, 2003-18; Maryland Taxpayers Protection Caucus, 2003-18; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2005-18; Doctors Caucus, 2010-18.

Member, Task Force on Indoor Air Quality, 2001-02; Task Force to Evaluate the Development and Construction of a Magnetic Levitation Transportation System (MAGLEV) in Maryland between Baltimore and the District of Columbia, 2002-03; Baltimore/Washington International (BWI) Airport Governance Study Group, 2005; Advisory Committee on the Naming of State Facilities, Roads, and Bridges, 2006; Local [Video Lottery] Development Council, Anne Arundel County, 2012-18.

Member, County Council, Anne Arundel County, District 1, 1982-90. Past member, Drug and Alcohol Advisory Board, Anne Arundel County; Henryton Sub-Area Health Committee; Citizens Advisory Board for Henryton Center; Hypertension Commission; Patapsco Area Advisory Commission; Park Advisory Commission; Solid Waste Commission.

Born in Baltimore, Maryland, May 28, 1939. Attended Patterson Park High School, Baltimore, Maryland; University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, B.S. (pharmacy), 1962. Registered Pharmacist. Member, American and Maryland Pharmaceutical Associations, 1962-2018. Patent clerk, pharmacist, manager, and director of management, development, & professional services, Read's Drug Stores, 1960-77. President, Discount Pharmacy, Corpus Christi, Texas, 1977-80; owner, Ted's Pharmacy, 1980-90. Administrative officer, State's Attorney's Office, Anne Arundel County, 1994-2018. President and director, Anne Arundel Optimist Club, 1968-70. Board of Directors, Crestwood Improvement Association, 1970-73; Overlook Elementary PTA, 1970-77, 1980-83. Member, Linthicum Shipley Improvement Association, 1980-2018 (board of directors, 1995-97); Sheltered Workshop for the Handicapped, 1982-90; Community Action Agency, 1982-90; District 32 Democratic Club, 1982-2018; Roland Terrace Democratic Club, 1982-2018; Stoney Creek Democratic Club; West County Democratic Club. Former president and co-founder, Anne Arundel County Hall of Fame. Former chair, Citizens Advisory Committee, Hilltop Elementary School. Former board member, Chrysalis House. Legislator of the Year, Maryland State's Attorneys' Association, 2004. Legislator of the Year, Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA), 2005. Legislator of the Year, Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence, 2005. Legislative Award, The Arc of Maryland, 2009. Legendary Award, Anne Arundel County Democratic Central Committee, 2017. Alumni Hall of Fame, Patterson Park High School. Married; three children (one deceased); five grandchildren. Died in Baltimore, Maryland, June 8, 2018.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 11, 2022 Maryland State Archives