[photo, Robert J. Garagiola, State Senator] ROBERT J. GARAGIOLA
Democrat, District 15, Montgomery County

Member of Senate, January 8, 2003 to September 1, 2013. Resigned September 1, 2013. Majority Leader, 2011-13 (deputy majority leader, 2007-11). Member, Judicial Proceedings Committee, 2003-06; Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive & Legislative Review, 2003-06; Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 2003-06; Joint Committee on Welfare Reform, 2003-06; Joint Committee on Federal Relations, 2003-13; Senate Special Commission on Medical Malpractice Liability Insurance, 2004. Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Children, Youth, and Families, 2005-08. Member, Finance Committee, 2007-13 (chair, health subcommittee, 2007-13; member, transportation subcommittee, 2008-11); Joint Committee on Access to Mental Health Services, 2007-13; Joint Technology Oversight Committee, 2008-09; Joint Legislative Work Group to Study State, County and Municipal Fiscal Relationships, 2009-10; Joint Information Technology and Biotechnology Committee, 2009-13; Legislative Policy Committee, 2011-13; Spending Affordability Committee, 2011-13; Executive Nominations Committee, 2011-13. Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Health Care Delivery and Financing, 2007-13. Senate Co-Chair, Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2004-07. Chair, Democratic Caucus, 2007-11. Member, National Conference of State Legislatures, 2003-13 (law & criminal justice committee, 2003-06; health committee, 2007-13; alternate member, intergovernmental affairs committee, 2003-13). Member, Southern Legislative Conference, 2003-13 (law & criminal justice committee, 2003-07), and Eastern Regional Conference, 2010-13 (health committee, 2010-13), Council of State Governments (governing board, 2013; health public policy committee, 2013).

Advisory Board, Institute for Governmental Service and Research, University of Maryland, College Park, 2004- (secretary/treasurer, 2005-). Member, Advisory Council for Children, 2005-07; Task Force to Study State Assistance to Veterans, 2006-07; Task Force on Renewable Alternative Fuels, 2007; Task Force on Health Care Access and Reimbursement, 2007-08; Advisory Council to the Children's Cabinet, 2007-08; Blue Ribbon Commission on Maryland Transportation Funding, 2010-12; Transit Task Force, Montgomery County, 2011-13; Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council, 2011-13; Health Care Delivery Reform Subcommittee, Maryland Health Care Reform Coordinating Council, 2011-13; Work Group on Lead Liability Protection for Rental Property, 2012. Alternate member, Work Group to Consider Gaming Expansion, 2012; Joint Committee on Health Benefit Exchange Financing, 2012. Former member, Health Policy Committee, Eastern Regional Conference, Council of State Governments.

Born in Warren, Michigan, September 5, 1972. Rutgers University, B.A. (political science), 1994. Served in U.S. Army Reserves, 1995-2001 (parachutist badge, 2000; commendation medal, 2001). George Washington University Law School, J.D., 2001. Admitted to Maryland Bar, 2001. Attorney. President, Government Relations Division & Managing Attorney, Rockville office, 2013-14, Annapolis office, 2014-18, Alexander & Cleaver. Attorney, Stein, Sperling, Bennett, DeJong, Driscoll & Greenfeig, P.C., 2004-11. Former associate, Greenberg Traurig, LLP, Washington, DC. Member, American Bar Association; Maryland State Bar Association, 2001- (business law section; property, planning & zoning section; young lawyers section); Montgomery County Bar Association, 2004-; District of Columbia Bar Association, 2002-. Senior congressional aide in U.S. House of Representatives, 1994-98. Vice-President, Germantown Citizens Association, 1998-2000 (board member, 1997-2001). President, Germantown Democratic Club, 1999-2001. Board of Trustees, Germantown Alliance, 1999-2001. Board member, Gaithersburg-Germantown Chamber of Commerce, 2000, 2001 (vice-president of economic development, 1999). Co-chair, Germantown Harvest Parade Committee, 2000. Board of Directors, Clean Energy Partnership, Inc., 2004. Democrat of the Year, Montgomery County Democratic Party, 2001. Solar Energy Champion Award, Maryland, District of Columbia & Virginia (MDV)-Solar Energy Industries Association, 2004. Certificate of Appreciation for Increasing Public Safety, U.S. Park Police, 2004. Champion for Children Award, State Citizens Review Board for Children, 2005. Public Service Award for Outstanding Leadership, League of Korean Americans, 2005. Certificate of Appreciation for Veterans Advocacy, Vietnam Veterans of America, 2006. Legislative Sponsor Award, Maryland Children Action Network, 2006. Maryland Clean Energy Legislative Partner Award, Clean Energy Partnership, 2006. Award for outstanding contributions for work championing agricultural issues, Maryland Association of Soil Conservation Districts, 2006. Solar Champion Award, Maryland-District of Columbia-Virginia Solar Energy Industries Association, 2007. Special Recognition Award, Interstate Renewable Energy Council, 2007. Government Leadership Award, American Solar Energy Society, 2008. Award of Special Merit in recognition of selfless service on behalf of people with intellectual and developmental disablities, The Arc of Montgomery County, 2008. Technology Advocate of the Year, Tech Council of Maryland, 2008. Excellence in Public Policy Award, American Cancer Society, 2008. Senate Legislator of the Year, Health Facilities Association of Maryland, 2008. Legislator of the Year, recognized for his leadership on health care issues, Maryland College of Emergency Physicians, 2009. Legislative Award, Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland, 2010. Legislative Leader Award, Parents' Place of Maryland, 2010. Maryland Citizens' Health Initiative Courageous Leadership Award, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Awards Committee, 2011. John R. Hargreaves Distinguished Legislative Fellow Award, Institute for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement, Salisbury University, 2011. Outstanding Friend of Municipal Government, Maryland Municipal League, 2011. Climate Champion Award, Chesapeake Climate Action Network, 2011. Legislative Leadership Award, Maryland Clean Energy Center, 2011. Three children.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives