[photo, Obie Patterson, Maryland State Senator] OBIE PATTERSON
Democrat, District 26, Prince George's County

Member of Senate, January 9, 2019 to January 11, 2023. Deputy Majority Whip, 2019-23. Member, Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee, 2019-23 (alcohol subcommittee, 2019-; education subcommittee, 2019-). Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Gaming Oversight, 2019-23. Member, Executive Nominations Committee, 2021-23. Member, Joint Committee on Children, Youth, and Families, 2020. Member, Senate Presidentís Advisory Work Group on Equity and Inclusion, 2020-21; State Park Investment Commission, 2021. Senate Vice-Chair, Prince George's County Delegation, 2021-23. Member, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland, 2019-23.

Member, Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities, 2019-23; Local [Video Lottery] Development Council, Prince George's County, 2019-23.

Member, Trial Courts Judicial Nominating Commission, 13th Commission District (Prince George's County), 2023-.

Member, County Council, Prince George's County, representing District 8, December 6, 2010 to December 3, 2018 (vice-chair, Dec. 4, 2012 to Dec. 3, 2013). Vice-Chair, Health, Education and Human Services, 2017-18 (chair, 2013-14; member, 2013-18). Member, Transportation, Housing and the Environment Committee, 2011-12, 2016-18. Vice-Chair, Planning, Zoning and Economic Development Committee, 2012, 2017 (chair, 2011-12; member, 2011-14, 2017-18). Member, Rules and General Assembly Committee, 2015-16 (chair, 2012). Vice-Chair, Public Safety and Fiscal Management Committee, 2016 (member, 2011-12; chair, 2014-15).

Member, Board of Health, Prince Georgeís County, 2010-18. Board of Directors, Economic Development Corporation, Prince George's County, 2013-14; Social Services Board, Prince George's County, 2015-18.

Member, Chesapeake Bay and Water Resources Policy Committee, 2012-18, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments.

Member, Maryland Parole Commission, 2008-10.

Member of House of Delegates, representing District 26, Prince George's County, January 11, 1995 to January 10, 2007. Assistant Majority Leader, 2006-07. Member, Commerce and Government Matters Committee, 1995-98 (vice-chair, transportation subcommittee, 1995-98); Special Committee on Rail Mergers, 1997; Ways and Means Committee, 1999-2007 (education subcommittee, 1999-2000; tax & revenue subcommittee, 2001-03; chair, election law subcommittee, 2003-07); Joint Committee on Protocol, 1999-2007; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2003. Deputy Majority Whip, 2003-05. Member, Joint Committee on Children, Youth, and Families, 2003-07; Rules and Executive Nominations Committee, 2004-07. Chair, County Affairs Committee, Prince George's County Delegation, 1999-2007. Member, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland (formerly Maryland Legislative Black Caucus), 1995-2007 (treasurer, 1998-2002; chair, 2002-04). President, Maryland Black Caucus Foundation, 2010.

Member, Housing Commission, Gainesville, Florida, 1970.

Member, U.S. 301 South Corridor Transportation Study Task Force, 1994-96.

Member, Task Force on Personal Care, 1996-97; Task Force on Multiracial Designations, 1997. Co-Chair, Task Force on the Prince George's County Transfer Tax Rate, 2000-01. Member, Metropolitan Development Policy Committee, 2000-07; Auto Insurance Task Force to Study Rates in Urban Areas, 2005.

Born in Lancaster, South Carolina, March 7, 1938. Johnson C. Smith University, Charlotte, North Carolina, B.S. (biology), 1965; University of Florida, M.A. (public administration), 1971. Former research biologist, management analyst, equal employment opportunity specialist, and program analyst, U.S. Department of Agriculture. Board of Trustees, Johnson C. Smith University, 1994-. Polemarch, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., 1993-94. Member, Pi Sigma National Honor Society. Life member, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). Member, Roscoe C. Cartwright Prince Hall Masons, Lodge #129. President, Apple Grove-Squire Woods Civic Association, 1993-94. Board of Directors, Prince George's Volunteer Action Center. Founder and past chair, Prince George's County African-American Democratic Club. Board of Trustees, Johnson C. Smith University (chair, student affairs committee). Past president, National Alumni Association, Johnson C. Smith University. Former adjunct faculty, Bowie State University and Prince George's Community College. Award, United Negro College Fund. Award for Outstanding Service in Politics, Prince George's County Educators' Association, 1999. Board of Trustees, Fort Foote Baptist Church, Fort Washington, Maryland. Three children; three grandchildren.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright August 25, 2023 Maryland State Archives