[photo, James E. DeGrange, Sr., Maryland State Senator] JAMES E. (ED) DeGRANGE, SR.
Democrat, District 32, Anne Arundel County

Member of Senate, January 13, 1999 to January 9, 2019. Member, Budget and Taxation Committee, 1999, 2003-19 (health, education, & human resources subcommittee, 1999; pensions subcommittee, 2003-06; chair, public safety, transportation & environment subcommittee, 2003-19; chair, capital budget subcommittee, 2007-19, member, 2003-19); Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space and Agricultural Land Preservation, 1999-2006; Joint Committee on Protocol, 1999-2019. Member, Finance Committee, 2000-02; Joint Technology Oversight Committee, 2000-03; Special Committee on Gaming, 2001; Senate Committee on Redistricting, 2001-02; Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review, 2002-03. Majority Whip, 2003-06. Member, Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2003, 2007; Executive Nominations Committee, 2003-19 (vice-chair, 2007-15); Spending Affordability Committee, 2003-19 (senate chair, 2011-14); Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 2004-06; Joint Commission on the Maryland Port Administration, 2005-06; Joint Committee on Base Realignment and Closure, 2007-11; Legislative Policy Committee, 2008-17; Joint Legislative Work Group to Study State, County and Municipal Fiscal Relationships, 2009-10; Senate Committee on Reapportionment and Redistricting, 2011-19; Joint Committee on Gaming Oversight, 2013-19. Co-Chair, Special Joint Commission on Public Safety and Security in State and Local Correctional Facilities, 2013. Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Legislative Information Technology and Open Government, 2015-18. Vice-Chair, Rules Committee, 2015-19. Member, 21st Century School Facilities Commission, 2016-17. Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 2016-19. Chair, Anne Arundel County Senate Delegation, 2001-02. Member, Maryland Legislative Sportsmen's Caucus, 2001-19; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2004-19; Maryland Military Installation Legislative Caucus, 2017-19. Member, National Conference of State Legislatures (transportation committee, 2004-19; budgets & revenue committee, 2007-19); Southern Legislative Conference (economic development, transportation & cultural affairs committee, 2008-19; fiscal affairs & government operations committee, 2008-19).

Member, Task Force to Ensure Utility Services, 1999-2000; Council on Management and Productivity, 1999-2003; Task Force on Gasoline Zone-Pricing in Maryland, 2000-01; Task Force to Evaluate the Development and Construction of a Magnetic Levitation (MAGLEV) Transportation System in Maryland Between Baltimore and the District of Columbia, 2002-03; Drug Treatment Court Commission, 2003-06; Task Force on Parking for Individuals with Disabilities, 2004; Task Force on the Exemption of Law Enforcement Officers' Pensions from Taxation, 2004-05; Task Force on Missing Vulnerable Adults, 2004-05; Task Force on Lending Equity within Financial Institutions Providing State Depository Services, 2005; Transit Funding Study Steering Committee, 2006-07; Capital Debt Affordability Committee, 2007-19; Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee, 2008-14; State Center Executive Committee, 2009-19; Joint Legislative and Executive Commission on Oversight of Public/Private Partnerships, 2011-12. Co-Chair, Maryland Commission on Cybersecurity Innovation and Excellence, 2011-12. Member, Transportation Committee, 2011-, Eastern Regional Conference, Council of State Governments; Communications Tax Reform Commission, 2012-13; Local [Video Lottery] Development Council, Anne Arundel County, 2012-19. Co-Chair, Commission on the Establishment of a Maryland Educators Service Memorial, 2013-16. Memorial, Advisory Council on the Impact of Regulations on Small Businesses, 2015-19.

Member, State Lottery Commission, 1991-99. Member, Anne Arundel County Council, 1994-98.

Born in Baltimore, Maryland, September 24, 1949. Graduated Glen Burnie High School, Glen Burnie, Maryland. Attended Anne Arundel Community College. Served in U.S. Army Reserve, 1968-74. Vice-President, DeGrange Lumber Co., Inc., 1968-95. President, DeGrange Enterprises, Inc., 1996-2000. Manager, Community Development and Business Relations, Baltimore Washington Medical Center, 2000-. Member, Glen Burnie Improvement Association, 1970- (board of directors, 1985-89). Board of Directors, Glen Burnie Mutual Savings Bank, 1983- (secretary-treasurer, 1990-95; president, 1995-). Member, Rotary Club of Glen Burnie, 1984- (board of directors, 1987-89; president, 1992-93). Board of Directors, Baltimore-Washington Medical Center Foundation (formerly North Arundel Hospital Foundation Board), 1993-99. Member, Advisory Board, Salvation Army, 1995-98. President, Take Back Our Streets, Inc., 1995- (member, 1992-). Member, Anne Arundel Community College Foundation, 1996-2000. Youth baseball coach, Glen Burnie Boys Baseball and Harundale Youth Sports League, 1976-89. Member, Knights of Columbus, Holy Trinity Council no. 3414. Paul Harris Fellow Award, Rotary Club of Glen Burnie, 2000. Outstanding Employer Partner, Maryland Chamber of Commerce, 2005. Legislator Recognition Award, Maryland Association of Counties, 2006. Outstanding Legislator of the Year, Maryland Business for Responsive Government, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011. Distinguished Legislator Award, Maryland Municipal League, 2009 (certificate of appreciation, 2008, 2010, 2011). Alumni Wall of Honor, Glen Burnie High School, 2011. Significant Public Service Award, Rotary Club of Glen Burnie, 2012. Champion of Education Award, Maryland Chapter, Maryland Council for American Private Education, 2013. Presidential Champion of Education Award, Maryland PTA, 2013. Friend of the Eagle, Baltimore Area Council of Boy Scouts of America, 2013. Housing Champion Award, Anne Arundel Affordable Housing Coalition, 2013. Outstanding Service Award, University of Maryland College Park Foundation, 2016. Legacy Award, Community Development Network of Maryland, 2017. First Citizen Award, Maryland Senate, 2019. Member, Holy Trinity Catholic Church, Glen Burnie, Maryland. Married; three children; eleven grandchildren.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 14, 2022 Maryland State Archives