clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e
  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search search for:
clear space
white space
Session Laws, 1984
Volume 759, Page 701   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space



maintained for sale of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the
premises and where the major portion of the meals are consumed in
these premises, unless the annual license fee of [$1,500] $1,725
is paid.

The number of licenses which are permitted to have any
off-sale privileges referred to in this section are limited to
those licenses having the permit and facilities at the time of
the effective date of this act.

For the purpose of this subsection a restaurant means any
establishment located in a permanent building with ample space
and accommodations commonly known as a restaurant where hot meals
are habitually prepared, sold and served to the public during the
hours it is regularly open for business.

It shall have at least the minimum sanitary facilities
required for an establishment by the regulations of the county
health department and shall meet the minimum health requirements
of these rules and regulations. It shall have a dining area or
areas with sufficient tables, chairs or booths to comfortably
seat and accommodate patrons.

The establishment shall be equipped with a kitchen having
complete facilities and utensils for preparing hot and cold meals
to the public.

There shall be employed a sufficient number of cooks,
waiters or waitresses to serve the number of patrons provided for
in the dining area or areas.

Each restaurant shall maintain and display a menu
advertising the serving of a variety of hot meals. There shall
be on the premises at all times sufficient food to fill orders
made from the menu.

Any interruption of restaurant facilities for any reason
must be reported to the board promptly.

Any drug, candy or confectionery store may not be construed
to be a restaurant.

On and after May 1, 1966, any new application for a beer,
wine and liquor license, Class B may not be granted by the board,
and any transfer from one location to another location by the
same license holder, and any transfer from one license holder to
another at the same location, or from one license holder to
another at a different location, may not be approved unless the
establishment where it is proposed to locate or transfer the
license meets the standards contained in this section. As of May
1, 1966, a license holder who was granted and held his license
prior to June 1, 1965, shall be granted by the board an
additional period of two years, expiring as of May 1, 1968,
during which to meet the standards contained in this section; and
during that two-year period the board may not refuse, for failure


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Session Laws, 1984
Volume 759, Page 701   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 11, 2023
Maryland State Archives