clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
The Constitution of the State of Maryland, 1864
Volume 666, Page 49   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Art. 4.] State of Maryland. 47

the duties and be allowed the fees which appertain to their
several offices as the same now are or may hereafter be
regulated by law.

Sec. 14. All elections of Judges, and other officers, pro-
vided for by this Constitution, States' Attorneys excepted,
shall be certified and the returns made by the Clerks of the
respective Counties to the Governor, who shall issue com-
missions to the different persons for the offices to which
they shall have been respectively elected; and in all such
elections, the person having the greatest number of votes
shall be declared to be elected.

Election Returns.
1853, ch. 134.

Sec. 15. If in any case of election for Judges, Clerks of
the Courts of Law, and Registers of Wills, the opposing
candidates shall have an equal number of votes, it shall be
the duty of the Governor to order a new election; and in
case of any contested election, the Governor shall send the
returns to the House of Delegates, who shall judge of the
election and qualification of the candidates at such election.

Tie in Election.

Sec. 16. All public commissions and grants shall run
thus: "The State of Maryland;" &c, and shall be signed
by the Governor, with the seal of the State annexed; all
writs and process shall run in the same style, and be tested,
sealed and signed as usual; and all indictments shall con-
clude "against the peace, government and dignity of the

Style of Commis-
sions and Writs.

Part II.�Court of Appeals.

Sec. 17. The Court of Appeals shall consist of a Chief
Justice and four Associate Justices, and for their selection
the State shall be divided into five Judicial Districts, as
follows, viz: Worcester, Somerset, Dorchester, Talbot,
Caroline, Queen Anne, Kent and Cecil Counties shall com-
pose the First District; Harford and Baltimore Counties,
and the first seven Wards of Baltimore city, shall compose
the Second District; Baltimore city, except the first seven
Wards, shall compose the Third District; Allegany,Wash-
ington, Frederick, Howard and Carroll Counties, shall
compose the Fourth District; St. Mary's, Charles, Anne

Court of Appeals-
five Judges.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
The Constitution of the State of Maryland, 1864
Volume 666, Page 49   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 11, 2023
Maryland State Archives