clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
THE FIRST COLORED Professional, Clerical and Business DIRECTORY OF BALTIMORE CITY 23th Annual Edition, 1935-1936
Volume 513, Page 4   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

118—Harriet Beecher Stowe School, Argyle Ave. near Lanvale St.. Mrs. M. Estelle Carr. Prin-
cipal, 2523 Madison Ave. ; P.-T. Club. Mrs. Lillie Gantt, President, 1141 W. Franklin St.

119—John H. Murphy School, Gilmor and Mosher Sts., Wm. T. Griggs, Principal, 2039 Division
St. : P.-T. Club—none.

120—John, Hurst School, Pennsylvania Ave. and Robert St.. Henry W. Ebb, Principal, 1539
Argyle Ave. ; P.-T. Club, Helen Martin, President, 1828 Pennsylvania Ave.

121—Daniel Payne School, Sharp St. near Hamburg St., Mr. G. Albert Wright, Vice-Principal,
1113 W. Lanvale St. ; P.-T. Club, Oliver Owens, President, 205 West Hamburg St.

122—Samuel Coleridge Taylor School (Platoon), Preston St. and Druid Hill Ave., Chaa. W. Jones.
1143 N. Carey St.. Principal ; P.-T. Club, Dr. Jay G. McEae, President, 1125 Druid Kill Ave.

123—Fremont Ave. near Lemmon St.. George A. Owens, Principal, 543 Presatman St. ; P.-T.
Club, Mrs. Gertrude Mitchell. President. 805 S. Fremont Ave.

124—Daniel Murray School, Orleans and Bond Sts.. Mis& Lillian H. Trusty, Acting Principal,
1357 Calhtmn St. ; P.-T. Club, Maurice Yorkman, President, 2620 Boone St.

125—Henry Winter Davis School, Pennsylvania Ave. and Dolphin St.. Clarence J. Roberts, 1233
Myrtle Ave., Acting Principal; P.-T. Club, Mrs. Emma Moan, President, 1819 Lauretta Ave.

126—Sharp St. near Montgomery St., G. Albert Wright, Acting Principal, 1101 W. Lanvale St. ;
F.-T. Club—none.

127—Biddle St. near Pennsylvania Ave.. Mrs. Katherine J. Jackson, Teacher in Charge. 1508
McCulloh St.: P.-T. Club. Martha Cole. President. 407 N. Carey St.

128—Schroeder and Pierce Sts., James N. Randall, Acting Principal, 1101 W. Lanvale St. ;
P.-T. Club, Jessie G. Valentine. President, 1019 Edmonson Ave.

129—Ashland Ave. and Harford Ave., Mrs. Lee F. E. Fletcher. Acting Principal, 1704 Westwood
Ave. ; P.-T. Club, Mrs. Georgine Eollins, President. 929 Dallas St.

131—Opportunity School, Druid Hill Ave. near Orchard St.. Mrs. Martha B. Warsoma, Principal,
268 Robert St. ; P.-T. Club—none.

132—Demonstration School. Mount St. near Riggs Ave., Miles W. Connor, Principal, 2415 Madi-
son Ave. ; P.-T. Club, Mrs. Elizabeth Lewis, President, 1104 N. Mount St.

133—Dunbar Junior High School, Caroline and McElderry Sts., Carrington L. Davis, Principal,
1S21 McCulloh St. ; P.-T Club, Mrs. Sarah E. Travers, President, 416 Aisquith St.

454—Colored Vocational School, Lafayette and Carrollton, Joseph C. Briscoe, Principal, 1713 N.
Calhoun St. ; P.-T. Club, 454-454A, Mrs. Ella Watdon, President, 828 N. Bond St.

454A—Colored Vocational School Annex, Carey and Cumberland Sts., Joseph C. Briscoe, Prin-
cipal, 1713 N. Calhoun St. ; P.-T. Club—none.

176—School for Handicapped Children, Schroeder St. near Franklin, Mrs. Louise Dennis, Prin-
cipal, 2008 Druid Hill Ave. ; P.-T. Club—none.


154—Fairfield Road, between Carbon and Brandy Aves., Miss Bessie G. Quille. Vice-Principal,
1318 Edmondson Ave. : P.-T. Club. Walter W. Brown. President. 3316 Fairfield Boad.

155—Lauraville, Otho R. Keys, Teacher in Charge. 822 N. Fremont Ave. : P.-T. Club, Mrs. Lois
Bolden, President, 4419 Craddock Ave.

156—Morrell Park, Center St., Mt. Winans, William Parrott, Teacher in Charge, 533 N. Carroll-
ton Ave. ; P.-T. Club, Fannie Anderson, President, 5527 Ridgely St.

158—Roland Park, Falls Road near Cold Spring Lane. Lewis M. Gwynn, Teacher in
Charge, 619 Sanford Pl. ; P.-T. Club. Mrs. Fannie Ennis, President, 4312 Dewey Ave.


Mrs. Mary McCleod Bethune, founder and president of the Bethune-Cookman
College, Daytona Beach, Fla., and Dr. Mordecai Johnson, president of Howard
University, Washington, D. C., who were named by President Roosevelt, T. mrs-
day, Aug. 1, 1935, among the thirty-four members of a national advisory com-
mittee to the $50,000,000 National Youth Administration.



clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
THE FIRST COLORED Professional, Clerical and Business DIRECTORY OF BALTIMORE CITY 23th Annual Edition, 1935-1936
Volume 513, Page 4   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 10, 2023
Maryland State Archives