clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1996-97
Volume 187, Page 859   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

ot Columbia have authorized the Authority to ac
quire and operate all mass transit bus facilities in the
Washington, DC, region The Authority also main
tains a regular police force to protect patrons,
personnel, and property
The Authority is governed by a six member
Board of Directors (and six alternate directors)
Each Compact signatory appoints two members
Board members and alternates serve terms coter
minous with their service as members of their ap
pointing bodies (Code Transportation Article, sees
10 202 through 10 204)


Chair Agnes M Alexander, District of Columbia

Appointed by Governor of Maryland Claude M

Appointed by Governor of Virginia one vacancy
William H McGilvery, Executive Director

1828 L Street, NW, Suite 703
Washington, DC 20036—5104 (202) 331 1671

The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit
Commission was established in 1961 to regulate
the commercial transportation of passengers in the
Washington, DC, Metropolitan District The Corn
mission was created by the Washington Metropoli

tan Area Transit Regulation Compact, an agree
ment among Maryland, the District of Columbia,
and Virginia Maryland ratified the Compact in
1959 (Chapter 613, Acts of 1959) Amended by
Maryland in its entirety in 1988, the revised corn
pact became effective in February 1991 after ratiti
cation by Virginia and the District of Columbia
(Chapter 273, Acts of 1988)
The Commission prescribes fares, regulations,
and practices of transportation companies and
interstate taxicabs in the Washington Metropoli
tan Area Transit District Created by the ( om
pact, the District embraces the District of
Columbia, Montgomery and Prince George's
counties, Maryland, the cities of Alexandria and
Falls Church, Virginia, and Arlington and Fairfax
counties, Virginia
The Commission has three members One is
named by the Governor of Maryland from the
Maryland Public Service Commission The Go\er
nor of Virginia appoints one from the Virginia State
Corporation Commission One is chosen b) the
Mayor of the District of Columbia from the District
Public Service Commission Each member's term
coincides with the term of office in the agency from
which the member is selected Commission ex
penses are allocated annually in proportion to the
population of each signatory in the Metropolitan
District Maryland's share in Fiscal Year 1996 was
46 57 percent or $223,536 (Code Transportation
Article, sec 10 203)



Provisions for the Board of Review of the Metro
politan Washington Airports Authority as author
ized by the federal Metropolitan Washington
Airports Act of 1986 were ruled unconstitutional

by the U S Court of Appeals for the District of
Columbia on September 27, 1994 (John W Hech
inger, Jr, et al v Metropolitan Washington Airports
Opinion no 94 7036)



clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1996-97
Volume 187, Page 859   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives