clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 791   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995


Chairperson: Peter J. Bush, New York (alternate)

William Donald Schaefer, Governor of Maryland; Mario
Como, Governor of New York; Robert P. Casey,
Governor of Pennsylvania; vacancy (federal

Maryland alternates: Torrey C. Brown, M.D.;
Catherine Pieper Stevenson.

Paul O. Swartz, Executive Director

1721 North Front St.
Harrisburg, PA 17102—2391 (717) 238-0422
public information: (717) 238-0423

Contact: Catherine Pieper Stevenson

c/o Resource Management
Dept. of Natural Resources
Tawes State Office Building
580 Taylor Ave.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 974-3705

The Susquehanna River Basin Commission was
created upon enactment of the Susquehanna River
Basin Compact by the Commonwealth of Pennsyl-
vania, the states of New York and Maryland, and
Congress. Maryland ratified the Compact in 1967
(Chapter 391, Acts of 1967). The Commission
superseded the Interstate Advisory Committee on
the Susquehanna River Basin.
The Commission formulates plans, policies, and
projects for water resources development, conser-
vation, and management of the Basin. The annual
report of the Commission is available on request.
The Commission consists of the governor from
each signatory state and one member appointed by
the President of the United States (Code Natural
Resources Article, sec. 8-301).


676 North St. Clair St., Suite 1700
Chicago, IL 60611 (312) 915-0195

The National Conference of Commissioners on
Uniform State Laws was created by interstate com-
pact in 1892. The Conference promotes uniform
legislation designed to solve problems common to
all states. Commissioners representing state gov-
ernment and the legal profession draft proposals,
then work for their adoption by the states. When
uniformity is neither practical nor necessary, the
Conference also designs model acts to provide
states with a concisely structured legislative frame-
work adaptable to particular needs and problems.

Interstate Agencies /791


M. Michael Cramer, Chairperson, 1995

Appointed by Governor: K. King Burnett, 1995; M.
King Hill, Jr., 1995.

William G. Somerville, Associate Commissioner
(410) 841-3870

216 North Adams St.
Rockville, MD 20850 (301) 424-0677

The General Assembly, in 1896, established the
Commissioners for the Promotion of Uniformity of
Legislation in the United States (Chapter 264, Acts
of 1896). In 1984, the Commissioners were re-
named the State Commission on Uniform State
Laws (Code State Government Article, secs. 9-201
through 9-206).
Every four years, the Governor appoints three
Commissioners who represent Maryland in the Na-
tional Conference of Commissioners on Uniform
State Laws. The Commissioners serve on commit-
tees that draft laws for submission to state legisla-
tures and recommend measures to promote
uniform laws.



Chairperson: Joseph Alexander, Virginia

1st Vice-Chairperson: Jack Evans, District of Columbia
2nd Vice-Chairperson: Hilda R. Pemberton, Maryland

Appointed by Washington Suburban Transit
Cleatus E. Barnett; John P. Davey
(alternate); Carlton R. Sickles (alternate).

Appointed by Northern Virginia Transportation
Mary Margaret Whipple; Katherine K.
Hanley (alternate); T. Michael Jackson (alternate).

Appointed by District of Columbia City Council:
Anthony M. Rachal III; Hilda H. M. Mason
(alternate); Deborah Price (alternate).

David L. Gunn, General Manager

600 Fifth St., N.W.
Washington, DC 20001 (202) 962-1047
TTY for deaf: (202) 638-3780
bus & rail information: (202) 637-7000
public information: (202) 962-1051

The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit
Authority was created by interstate compact of the
State of Maryland, the Commonwealth of Virginia,
and the District of Columbia with the consent of
Congress. Maryland ratified the Compact in 1965
(Chapter 869, Acts of 1965). The Authority was
formed to plan, finance, and develop a regional


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 791   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives