clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 790   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

790 /Interstate Agencies

in the Potomac River. The Commission receives
proceeds from the sale of crab, oyster, fish and clam
licenses, and an oyster inspection tax. Annually,
each state appropriates $150,000 to Commission
The Commission's six members include three
from each state. Maryland members are the Secre-
tary of Natural Resources or designee and two
persons appointed to four-year terms by the Gov-
ernor. For chairperson, the Commission elects a
Maryland representative in odd-numbered years
and a Virginia representative in even-numbered
years (Code Natural Resources Article, sec. 4-306).


Maryland members appointed by Governor: Arthur
Dorman, 1994; Nancy K. Kopp, 1995; Shaila R. Aery,
Ed.D., 1997; Donald N. Langenberg, Ph.D., 2000.

Ex officio: William Donald Schaefer, Governor
Mark D. Musick, President

592 Tenth St., N.W
Atlanta, GA 30318—5790 (404) 875-9211

c/o Maryland Higher Education Commission
16 Francis St.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 974-2971

The Southern Regional Education Board is the
nation's oldest interstate compact for higher educa-
tion. The Board plans for the use of educational
programs and facilities by its members states. The
Board operates under the Southern Regional Edu-
cation Compact of 1949, which Maryland ratified
in 1949 (Chapter 282, Acts of 1949). Fourteen
other states have ratified the Compact: Alabama,
Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana,
Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South
Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Vir-
Created at the request of southern governors,
the Board brings together educators, govern-
ment officials, and other regional leaders to ad-
vance education and thereby improve the social
and economic life of the South. Working directly
with state governments, academic institutions,
and other agencies, the Board conducts research
and reports on needs, problems, and develop-
ments in education; coordinates cooperative pro-
grams to upgrade training in undergraduate,
graduate, professional and technical education;
and serves as fiscal agent and administrator in
interstate arrangements for regional educational
services and institutions. These reciprocal agree-
ments provide quality education while lessening
the need to develop expensive specialized pro-
grams in each state.

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

Board publications, including a wide variety of
research reports, are available to the public.
The Board's governing body consists of the gov-
ernor of each member state and four other individu-
als from the state, one of whom must be a state
legislator and one an educator. All are appointed by
the governor for four-year terms (Code Education
Article, secs. 25-201 through 25-205).


Chairperson: Jim Guy Tucker, Governor of Arkansas

Maryland members: William Donald Schaefer,
Governor (Gerald L. Thorpe, alternate); Leo E.
Green, State Senate; Thomas H. Hattery, House of

3091 Governor's Lakes Drive, Suite 400
Norcross, GA 30071 (404) 242-7712

P. O. Box 34606
1325 13th St., N.W
Washington, DC 20043—606 (202) 667-7303

The Southern States Energy Board originated as
the Southern Interstate Nuclear Board, created in
1962 by the Southern Interstate Nuclear Compact.
The Compact has been approved by sixteen south-
ern states, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and
Congress (P.L. 87-563). Maryland ratified the
Compact in 1963 (Chapter 680, Acts of 1963). The
Board adopted its present name in 1977.
The Southern States Energy Board seeks to
improve the economy of the South and the
welfare of its people by cooperative efforts to
ensure proper use and conservation of energy,
and energy-related facilities, materials, and
products with due regard for the environment.
Member jurisdictions include Alabama, Ar-
kansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana,
Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina,
Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennes-
see, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Each sup-
ports the Board through an annual appropriation
based on a formula outlined in the Compact.
Each member state is represented on the
Board by three members. For Maryland, the Di-
rector of the Maryland Energy Administration
appoints one member with the Governor's ap-
proval; the Senate President appoints a senator;
and the House Speaker chooses a delegate (Code
1957, Art. 41, secs. 16-101 through 16-114).


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 790   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives