clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 783   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

procedures, by-laws, rules, and regulations (Code
Environment Article, secs. 7-301 through 7-306).


Chairperson: William Hogarth, North Carolina

Maryland representatives: W. Peter Jensen, Director,
Tidal Fisheries Division, Department of Natural
Resources; James E. McClellan, House of Delegates;
Frederick W. Meers, Governor's appointee, 1995.

John H. Dunnigan, Executive Director

1776 Massachusetts Ave., N.W, Suite 600
Washington, DC 20036 (202) 452-8700

The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commis-
sion is an outgrowth of the Eastern Conservation
Conference begun in 1937. Seven states, including
Maryland, ratified a compact in 1941 (Chapter 435,
Acts of 1941). This compact, approved by the U.S.
Congress and signed by the President in 1942, is
the legal basis of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
The Commission develops joint fishery manage-
ment programs which may lead to uniform laws or
varying but coordinated measures. It also adopts
cooperative interstate management plans for par-
ticular species of fish or bodies of water common to
two or more states. Each state must implement the
management plan or the Commission may recom-
mend to the Secretary of Commerce that a federal
moratorium on fishing be imposed on the noncom-
plying state. Each participating state pays dues for
the support of the Commission in proportion to the
value of its marine fisheries catch.
The Commission issues annual reports and min-
utes of meetings which are on file with the Depart-
ment of Natural Resources. The Commission also
publishes and distributes several other fisheries-re-
lated reports, as well as fishery management plans
for Atlantic coast species, which are available from
the Commission.
The Commission has a membership of fifteen
Atlantic seaboard states. Each state is represented
by three commissioners. One commissioner repre-
sents the state agency charged with conservation of
fisheries resources, one is a legislator, and one is
selected by the governor for a three-year term
(Code Natural Resources Article, secs. 4-301
through 4-305).

Interstate Agencies /783


Chairperson: Jeffrey W. Coy, Pennsylvania
Vice-Chairperson: C. Bernard Fowler, Maryland
Vice-Chairperson: S. Wallace Stieffen, Virginia

Maryland members: Torrey C. Brown, MD., Secretary of
Natural Resources; Jack F. Witten, citizen member;
Gerald W. Winegrad, State Senate; James E. McClellan,
Michael H. Weir, John F .Wood, Jr., House of Delegates.

Ann Pesiri Swanson, Executive Director

60 West St., Suite 200
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 263-3420

Originally founded on a bi-state agreement be-
tween Maryland and Virginia, the Chesapeake Bay
Commission was created in 1980 (Chapter 674,
Acts of 1980). Its formation stemmed from recom-
mendations of the Chesapeake Bay Legislative Ad-
visory Commission on the need for improved
interstate coordination of Bay-wide management.
In 1985, Pennsylvania became a member of the
The Commission helps the legislatures of Mary-
land, Virginia, and Pennsylvania evaluate and re-
spond to problems relating to Chesapeake Bay. The
Commission also encourages coordinated resource
planning and action among the executive agencies
of the three member states.
The Commission publishes an annual report,
occasional issue papers, and an annual legislative
progress report that summarizes Bay-related legis-
lative concerns of the member states. These publi-
cations are available upon request.
The Commission consists of twenty-one mem-
bers, seven from each signatory state. Five members
from each state are state legislators. Of the five
Maryland legislative members, two are senators
designated by the Senate President and three are
delegates designated by the Speaker of the House
of Delegates. The Governor or designee serves as a
member. Another member, who is neither a legisla-
tor nor a member of the Executive branch, is se-
lected jointly by the Senate President and the
House Speaker. Legislative members serve terms
coterminous with their current terms of office.
Nonlegislative members serve at the pleasure of
their respective appointing authorities, but no
longer than four years unless reappointed. The
chairperson and vice-chairperson are selected by the
members, with each position alternating annually
among the delegations from the three states. Each
state contributes equally to the annual budget
which is $330,000 for Fiscal Year 1994 (Code
Natural Resources Article, secs. 8-302 through 8-


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 783   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives