clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 782   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

782 /Interstate Agencies Maryland Manual 1994-1995


Interstate agencies enable states to work together for common purposes. Often, these agencies are
created from interstate compacts approved by the U.S. Congress. The authority for interstate compacts
is found in the U.S. Constitution (Article I, sec. 10).


Federal Co-Chairperson: Jesse L. White, Jr.
States' Co-Chairperson: Zell B. Miller, Governor of Georgia

Maryland member appointed by Secretary of Housing
& Community Development with Governor's approval:
William Donald Schaefer, Governor (Ronald M.
Kreitner, Director of Planning, alternate).

Francis E. Moravitz, Executive Director

1666 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Washington, DC 20235 (202) 884-7799

The Appalachian Regional Commission was cre-
ated by the federal Appalachian Regional Develop-
ment Act of 1965 (P.L. 89-4). The Commission
supports economic development of the Appala-
chian region through allocation of federal funds to
member states. The Commission can act only on
proposals submitted to it by state members.
The thirteen-state Appalachian region includes
the Western Maryland counties of Washington, Al-
legany, and Garrett. To develop the region, the
Commission plans and coordinates programs to
construct a highway system, access roads, health
centers, vocational schools, and sewage treatment
works. The Commission also works to develop
land, timber and water resources; rehabilitate areas
damaged by strip and surface mining; and establish
local development districts to support local eco-
nomic development.
With the approval of the Governor, the Secre-
tary of Housing and Community Development
appoints the Maryland member and alternate
(Code 1957, Art. 83B, secs. 4-501 through 4-505).


Maryland members appointed by Governor. David A.
C. Carroll, Secretary of the Environment, 1995
(Ronald Nelson, alternate); Nelson J. Sabatini,
Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene, 1995
(Robert W. Eastridge, alternate).

Contact: Richard W. Collins

c/o Waste Management Administration
Dept. of the Environment
2500 Broening Highway
Baltimore, MD 21224 (410) 631-3304

In 1986, Maryland ratified the Appalachian
States Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact
(Chapter 33, Acts of 1986). Delaware, Pennsylva-
nia, and West Virginia also have ratified the Com-
pact. The Compact established the Appalachian
States Low-Level Radioactive Waste Commission
to assure interstate cooperation for the proper pack-
aging and transportation of low-level radioactive
wastes. The Commission identifies a host state
(based on the volume and curie content of radioac-
tive waste generated) to receive and dispose of
radioactive waste from party states. Costs and bene-
fits are distributed equitably among party states.
After establishment of a regional facility, the Com-
mission may ban wastes generated outside the re-
The Commission designates as a host state any
party state that generates 25 percent or more of
Pennsylvania's volume or total curie content of
low-level radioactive waste, based on a comparison
of averages over three successive years. A host state
must begin immediate development of a regional
facility designed to serve at least thirty years. Party
states exempt from host state responsibilities con-
tinue as party states provided they generate less
than the threshold amount of low-level radioactive
waste over successive three-year periods.
The Commission conducts research and estab-
lishes regulations to reduce the volume of low-level
radioactive waste. The Commission also prepares
contingency plans in the event the regional facility
is closed; collects fees from party states until the
regional facility becomes available; and enters into
temporary agreements for emergency disposal.
Appointed by the governor, two members from
each party state serve on the Commission, as do
four members from each host state. After the host
state has selected a site for a regional facility, the
governor from that state appoints to the Commis-
sion an additional member who is a resident of the
county or municipality where the facility will be
located. Based in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, the
Commission provides for its own organization and


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 782   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives