clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 75   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., Chairperson
Joel Chasnoff, Vice-Chairperson

Lowe House Office Building, Room 121
6 Governor Bladen Blvd.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 841-3488

Origins of the Judiciary Committee trace first to
the Committee on Aggrievances, which began in
1692, and then to the Committee on Aggrievances
and Courts of Justice which was functioning by
1722 in the Lower House of the General Assembly
By 1751, the Committee was styled the Committee
on Grievances and Courts of Justice. Under that
name, the Committee continued until 1852. Some
of the Committee's legislative concerns had been
assumed in 1828 by the Crimes and Punishments
Committee, a standing committee established that
year. Responsibilities of both these committees
were assigned to the new Judiciary Committee in
1852, when the House of Delegates established the
Standing Committee on Judiciary. At its first legis-
lative session following ratification of the Constitu-
tion of 1851, the House formed the Committee to
consider laws relating to a court system, newly
altered by Maryland's second constitution.
Today, the Committee still considers legislation
relating to judicial administration and court struc-
ture. It also is concerned with administrative law;
alcoholic beverages; civil rights; commercial law;
constitutional amendments; corporations and asso-
ciations; crimes and punishments; election laws;
estates and trusts; ethics; family law; juvenile
causes; the legal profession; legal rights and immu-
nities; and vehicle laws. Twenty-two delegates serve
on this committee.

Sheila E. Hixson, Chairperson
Richard Rynd, Vice-Chairperson

Lowe House Office Building, Room 111
6 Governor Bladen Blvd.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 841-3469

A predecessor of the Ways and Means Commit-
tee first appeared in the House of Delegates in
1791. During that legislative session, the Commit-
tee on Public Revenues, Debts and Expenditures,
and Ways and Means was formed as a special com-
mittee apparently for that session only. As a stand-

Legislature /75

ing committee, the Ways and Means Committee
began in 1818.
The Ways and Means Committee considers leg-
islation relating to education; gambling; health
(minors' access to cigarettes; compulsive gambling;
treatment); local government; social services (adult
public guardianship); State government (special
commissions; State Archives; Secretary of State);
taxes; and transportation. The Committee consists
of twenty-two delegates.
Under the Committee, five subcommittees were
formed in 1994: Education; Financing Resources;
Housing and Social Issues; Taxes and Revenues;
and Transportation.

Hattie N. Harrison, Chairperson
Rose Mary Hatem Bonsack, Vice-Chairperson

Lowe House Office Building, Room 406
6 Governor Bladen Blvd.
Annapolis, MD 21401 (410) 841-3923

In November 1795, the House of Delegates
established a committee "to report such rules as are
proper to be observed during this session." The
Committee came to be known as the Rules Com-
mittee. In 1966, it was renamed the Rules and
Organization Committee and, in 1968, reorganized
as the Rules, Organization, and Executive Nomina-
tions Committee. The Committee received its pre-
sent name in 1969.
The Rules and Executive Nominations Commit-
tee considers proposals concerning the rules, or-
ganization, and procedures of the House; and
considers proposals affecting the legislature as an
institution and its agencies. The Committee reviews
legislation introduced after the bill deadline, and
decides on re-referral of those bills to other com-
mittees for consideration. In addition, the Commit-
tee examines nominations requiring House
confirmation and reports its recommendations.

Casper R. Taylor, Jr., House Speaker
Kenneth H. Masters, Majority Leader
Ellen R. Sauerbrey, Minority Leader

The Consent Calendars Committee determines
the bills and joint resolutions proposed for inclusion
on the consent calendar (House Rule 18).


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 75   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives