clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 65   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1913 State Senate /65

IDA G. RUBEN, Democrat, District 20, Montgomery County House of Delegates,
1975-87; chair, Montgomery Co. Delegation, 1981 87. Member of Senate since 1987;
Budget and Taxation Committee (subcomm. on public safety, transportation, economic
development, & natural resources); Executive Nominations Committee; Legislative Policy
Committee; Joint Budget and Audit Committee; Special Joint Committee on Economic
Development Strategy (chair, advisory subcomm. on services), 1989; Joint Committee on
Education Funding, 1990. Chair, Montgomery Co. Delegation. Convention chair. National
Order of Women Legislators, 1980; past pres.. Women Legislators of Md. Born and attended
public schools in Washington, DC. Past pres., international bd. member, treas., vice-pyes., B'nai
B'rith Women. Past commissioner, National Anti-Defamation League (national adv. comm.).
Governor's Motor Carrier Task Force for Safety and Uniformity, 1989; NCSL Assembly on the
Legislatures, Committee on Suggested State Legislation and Task Force on Growth and Trans-
portation, Council of State Governments; Montgomery Co. Ad Hoc Committee to Study Status
of Women; Child Support Enforcement Advisory Council. Md. Democratic Party Ethics Com-
mittee. Democratic precinct chair, 1967-74. Democratic clubs. Active in all national, State &
local election campaigns since 1963. Woman of Valor award, B'nai B'rith Women, 1992. Mar-
ried, four sons.
District office: 11 Schindler Ct., Silver Spring 20903, tel. (301) 439-2332.
Annapolis office: 204 James Senate Office Bldg., 21401-1991; tel. (301) 858-3634.

PATRICIA R. SHER, Democrat, District 18, Montgomery County. Member, House of
Delegates, 1979-90. Deputy Majority Whip, 1987-89; Deputy Majority leader, 1989-90.
Member, Special Committee on Drug and Alcohol Abuse. Chair, National Legislative Task
Force on Fire Gas Toxicity, 1983-85. Member, Senate since 1991; Finance Committee; Joint
Committee on Health Care Delivery and Financing; Special Joint Committee on Legislative
Data Systems; Special Joint Committee on Pensions. Born in Washington, DC, June 19, 1931.
Greenbelt High School; Montgomery Community College; University of Maryland, College ofHu-
man Ecology, B.S., 1983. Advisory Council on Drug Abuse, 1972-78; Interdepartmental Committee
on Mandated Health Insurance Benefits; State Employees' Health Insurance Advisory Council,
1992—; State Council on Cancer Control, 1993—; Maryland Tourism Development Board, 1993—.
Vice-Chair, Task Force to Study Deaths Resulting from Building Fires, 1985-88. Founder, Friends
of RAP (Regional Addiction Prevention), 1971. Member, Committee to Repeal Blue Laws, 1976.
Democratic precinct chair, 1966-78. Hornbook Award, Montgomery Co. Education Assoc., 1982;
Legislator of the Year, Md. Psychological Assoc., 1984; Betty Tyler Public Affairs Award, Planned
Parenthood of Md., 1988, 1992; Distinguished Service Award, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Admin.,
1988; Ann London Scott Memorial Award, Md. NOW, 19S9; Child Advocacy Award, Md. Chapter,
American Academy of Pediatrics, 1992. Married; four children.
District office: 2905 Barker St.,
Silver Spring 20910; tel. (301) 589-1555. AnnapoBs office: Presidential Wing, James Senate
Office Bldg., 21401-1991; tel. (301) 858-3137, (410) 841-3137.

JAMES C. SIMPSON, Democrat, District 28, Charles & St. Mary's Counties. Member
of Senate since 1975. Vice-Chairman, Finance Committee. Member, Legislative Policy
Committee; Joint Budget and Audit Committee; Spending Affordability Committee;
Workers' Compensation Benefit and Insurance Oversight Committee. Senate Chairman,
Special Joint Committee on Economic Development Strategy; Joint Subcommittee on
Unemployment Insurance Taxation and Charging. Born in Washington, DC, May 14, 1931.
Served in U.S. Marine Corps, 1951-54. Former president of distribution company. Member,
Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland, Manufacturing Advisory Committee, 1992—.
Chairman, Charles County Sanitary Commission, 1967-70. President, Board of County Com-
missioners of Charles County, 1970-74. Director, Maryland Bank & Trust Company. Past
president, Waldorf Lions Club; past deputy district governor, Lions Club. Honorary member,
Waldorf Jaycees. Member, American Legion; Knights of Columbus; Elks; Izaak Walton League;
Charles County Chamber of Commerce. Selected Citizen of the Year by Waldorf Lions Club,
1974. Married.
District office: P.O. Box 188, 1057 St. Ignatius Dr., Suite 120, Waldorf
20604; td. (301) 645-2235. Annapolis office: 316 James Senate Office Bldg.,21401-1991;
tel. (301) 858-3616, (410) 841-3616,

CHARLES H. SMELSER, Democrat, District 4, Carroll, Frederick & Howard Counties.
Member of House of Delegates, 1955-63. Member of Senate since 1967. Member, Budget
and Taxation Committee (chair, capital budget subcommittee; member, public safety,
transportation, economic development & natural resources subcommittee). Member, Ex-
ecutive Nominations Committee; Rules Committee; Legislative Policy Committee; Joint
Committee on Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review; Joint Subcommittee on
Program Open Space and Agricultural Land Preservation; Joint Oversight Committee on
Juvenile Services Initiatives, 1992—. Senate Chair, Joint Subcommittee on State's Capital
Program. Born in Uniontown, Carroll County, Maryland, July 4, 1920. Attended Carroll
County public schools; University of Maryland, B.S., 1942. Served in U.S. Air Force, World War
II. Retired dairy farmer. Member, Governor's Commission on Protocol for the Maryland State
Flag, 1989-90; Task Force on the Charles H. Hickey, Jr. School, 1991. Member, Frederick County
Farm Bureau. Past president, Capitol Milk Producers Cooperative, Inc. President, New Windsor
State Bank. Past president, Libertytown- Unionville Lions Club. Married.
Annapolis office; 100
James Senate Office Bldg., 21401-1991; tel. (410) 841-3704.

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 65   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives