clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 605   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

The Governor's Task Force on School Construc-
tion was formed in October 1992 by the Governor
(Executive Order 01.01.1992.21; Executive Order

The Task Force charge was to study and review the
Public School Construction Program. Matters re-
viewed included project requests from the twenty-
four local school systems for the next five to ten
years; the State and local shared-cost formula; the
State-rated capacity formula for elementary
schools; and State policies and procedures for fund-
ing prekindergarten programs and educational fa-
cilities. The Task Force investigated as well
alternative funding for forward-funded projects—
those projects undertaken by local government in
anticipation of State approval and, therefore, State
reimbursement. Program policies, practices, and
procedures also were reviewed by the Task Force to
ensure that all projects comply with State and local
growth management plans and policies; school fa-
cilities are maintained properly; and buildings being
designed or under construction meet the needs of
future students, educators, and the business com-

The Task Force submitted its final report to the
Governor on July 30, 1993.


Donald P. Hutchinson, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who named chair): J. Edward
Andrews, Ed.D.; Arthur M. Boyd; Valerie V.
Cloutier, Esq.; Charles W. Cole, Jr.; Rhoda M.
Dorsey, Ph.D.; William R. Ecker; Wayne F. Gersen;
Dana M. Jones; Stephen Lenzo; Susan P. Leviton,
Esq.; Edward F. Mitchell; Judith S. Sachwald.

Designated by Senate President: John A. Cade; Barbara
A. Hoffman; Laurence Levitan; Beatrice P. Tignor.

Designated by House Speaker. Henry B. Heller; Sheila E.
Hixson; Timothy F. Maloney; Howard P. Rawlings.

Ex officio: Charles L. Benton, Jr., Secretary of
Budget & Fiscal Planning; Nancy S. Grasmick,
Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools.

Lois A. Martin, Executive Director

c/o State Dept. of Education
200 West Baltimore St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 (410) 333-2294

The Governor formed the Governor's Commission
on School Funding in May 1993. The Commis-
sion's charge was to recommend an equitable for-
mula by which to apportion State funds for public
education to Maryland's twenty-three counties and
Baltimore City. The Commission also was to evalu-
ate how wisely local school systems are spending
the State funds that they currently receive.

Executive Commissions /605

The Commission submitted a preliminary report in
November 1993, and a final report in January
1994. Commission recommendations were made
for the General Assembly to consider during its
1994 regular session.


Susan White-Bowden, Chairperson
Dr. Charles H. Flatter, Executive Director

c/o Dept. of Human Development
Benjamin Building
University of Maryland College Park
College Park, MD 20742 (301) 405-2818

In February 1991, the Task Force's interim report
was submitted to the Governor, followed by its final
report in July 1991.


Sally J. Michel, Chairperson

c/o Office on Volunteerism
301 West Preston St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 (410) 225-4496

In 1990, the Governor's Advisory Board on Service
and Citizenship was formed by the Governor. The
Board advised the Governor on developing na-
tional service programs. The Board disbanded
when the Governor's Commission on Service was
created in 1994.


Chairperson: William K. Hellmann, former
Secretary of Transportation

Appointed by Governor (who named chair): Tyras S.
Athey; Donald M. Bowman; David Bramble; John
A. Cade; James R. (Ron) DeJuliis; Norman M.
Glasgow; Barbara A. Hoffman; Laurence Levitan;
Charles J. Ryan; Ellen R. Sauerbrey; Otis Warren.

Ex officio: Lucille Maurer, State Treasurer; Charles L.
Benton, Jr., Secretary of Budget & Fiscal Planning;
O. James Lighthizer, Secretary of Transportation.

c/o Dept. of Transportation
P.O. Box 8755
BWI Airport, MD 21240 (410) 859-7600

The Governor formed the Governor's Transporta-
tion Revenue Committee in 1990. The Committee
analyzed the State Transportation Trust Fund; as-
sessed Maryland's transportation needs; and rec-
ommended a capital program for State
transportation and sources of revenue for its sup-

The Committee reported to the Governor in Janu-
ary 1991.


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 605   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives