clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 594   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

594 /Executive Commissions


Eric Johnson, Chairperson
Contact: Linda Ezrine

c/o Governor's Drug & Alcohol Abuse Commission
300 East Joppa Rd., Suite 1105
Towson, MD 21204-3016 (410) 321-3521

The Governor, in May 1990, formed the Gover-
nor's Youth Drug and Alcohol Abuse Commission
within the Executive Office of the Governor (Ex-
ecutive Order 01.01.1990.09), The Governor es-
tablished the Youth Commission to involve
Maryland youth actively in programs for preventing
and eliminating drug and alcohol abuse and misuse
among youth.
Working with local community and school
groups, the Youth Commission develops initia-
tives to deter drug and alcohol use by young
people, makes recommendations to the Drug and
Alcohol Abuse Commission, publishes a state-
wide newsletter on local prevention programs,
and promotes the establishment of such pro-
grams. The full Youth Commission meets at least
once each year. Regional meetings are held at
least three times during the academic year.
The Youth Commission consists of sixty mem-
bers, two from each county and Baltimore City and
twelve at-large. They are appointed by the Gover-
nor for two-year terms.

Joseph A. Ciotola, Chairperson
Vacancy, Deputy Chairperson

c/o Governor's Drug & Alcohol Abuse Commission
300 East Joppa Rd., Suite 1105
Towson, MD 21204—3016 (410) 321-3521

The Governor's HIV/AIDS and Tuberculosis
Prevention and Education Commission was
authorized by the Governor in 1993 (Executive
Order 01.01.1993.31). The Commission advises
the Governor on matters related to the human
Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), Acquired Immune
Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS), and Tuberculosis
prevention and education.
The Commission's thirteen members are ap-
pointed by the Governor to two-year terms. The
Chairperson of the Governor's Council on Sub-
stance Abuse, Tuberculosis, and AIDS serves as
chairperson of the Commission.

Maryland Manual 1994-1995


Robert Northrop, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor. Charles B. Adams; Robert
A. Beyer; Stephen Bunker; Roland E. English III;
Gary Griffith; Ollie W. Kitchen, Jr.; Jack L. Perdue;
William Rees; Susan Reinhart; Chan Robbins; Eric
C. Schwaab; Rodger Waldman; Larry Walton.

c/o Forest Service
130 McKinneytown Road
North East, MD 21901 (410) 287-2918
fax: (410) 287-0010

In 1991, the Governor's Executive Commit-
tee on Trees and Forests was formed by the Gov-
ernor upon recommendation of the Governor's
Task Force on Trees and Forests. The Commit-
tee's charge is to identify emerging issues in for-
estry and related fields and recommend to the
Governor initiatives to improve State policies and
programs. The Committee also is responsible for
implementing the recommendations of the Gov-
ernor's Task Force on Trees and Forests.
The Committee has adopted a statement of

The vision for the Maryland Forest is to provide
a sustainable balance in the continuum between
consumptive uses and environmental functions,
based upon a land ethic that considers human
needs and the forest's intrinsic value.


Dr. John M. Sine, Chairperson
Raymond G. LaPlaca, Esq., Vice-Chairperson
Ann P. Swanson, Vice-Chairperson

Appointed by Governor: Tate Armstrong; Eugene
Baumgaertner; Bonnie Bick; Samuel Y. Bowling;
Stephen Carr; Kathleen A. Coakley; James D. Collett,
Jr.; David W. Cooksey; Mary Sue Couser; Roy I.
Dabney, Jr.; James A. Davis; Lee R. Epstein; Stanley
Fetter; Hugh C. Gardiner III; Carolyn Graham;
James E. Gutman; John E. Havenner; Erich Hintze;
Robert L. Isom; Lawrence Johnson; Raymond E.
Keeney, Sr.; Robert S. Krebs; Charles E. Lamb;
Joseph J. Lavorgna; Robert A. Manzi, Esq.; Daniel
H. Melvin; Richard J. Morgan; John Thomas Parran,
Jr.; Joseph S. Perrie, Jr.; Dr. Matthew C. Perry;
Leonard Rice; Jerald S. Sachs; William H. Scott;
Theresa Strong; Dorothy Troutman; Rev. Jonathan
L. Weaver; George B. Wilmot.

Appointed by Secretary of Transportation: Gary G.
Allen; Torrey C. Brown, M.D. (Peter M. Dunbar,
alternate); Michael E. Busch; John A. Cade; David A.
C. Carroll; Virginia P. Clagett; Peter Claggett;


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 594   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives