clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 591   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

Tyler J. Bastian, Ph.D.; Everett C. Carter, Ph.D.;
Rita R. Colwell, Ph.D.; W. Lamar Harris, Ph.D.;
Alexander Kossiakoff, Ph.D.; Harold D. Palmer,
Ph.D.; William C. Vergara, Ph.D.; John D. Walker.
Ph.D. Terms expire 1994.

Edward J. Cook, D.E.; Dr. John J. Daly; Christine U.
Eccles, Ph.D.; George W. Fisher, Ph.D.; John G. Honig,
Ph.D.; Harry Kriemelmeyer Jr.; Jack R. Lodge; Samuel
P. Massie, Ph.D.; Frank J. Munno, Ph.D.; M. Garry
Schnappinger, Ph.D. Terms expire 1995.

E. Lander Medlin, Executive Director

PO. Box 294
College Park, MD 20740 (301) 405-3205

The Governor's Science Advisory Council origi-
nated as the Governor's Science Resources Advi-
sory Council in 1963. By Executive Order, the
Governor reorganized the Council in 1970 as the
Governor's Science Advisory Council.
The Council provides the Governor with objective
scientific and technological advice. The Council iden-
tifies potential problems in all fields to which scientific
approaches can be applied, formulates recommenda-
tions to alleviate these problems, and defines problem
areas for which committees could find solutions or
recommendations for action. The Council also defines
scientific areas needing additional research or data
analysis, reviews available resources to perform such
analysis, and recommends the approach to be used.
The Council further works to improve scientific edu-
cation and identifies areas for graduate studies that will
be of value to the State.
At the Governor's request or with the Governor's
approval, the Council provides scientific and techno-
logical advice to the principal executive departments
of State government. It also serves as a liaison with
scientists of other states or agencies in coordinating
approaches to common scientific problems.
Appointed by the Governor, Council members
serve three-year terms.


Paul A. Hanle, Ph.D., Co-Chairperson
Michael M. E. Johns, M.D., Co-Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who names co-chairs):
Marcellus Alexander; Norman Augustine; Purnell
W. Choppin, M.D., Ph.D.; Frederick D. D'Alessio;
Roger A. Dandridge; Charles M. Ernst; Sandra S.
Hillman; Raymond K. K. Ho; William L. Jews;
Joseph Kelly; Glenn Kikuchi; Richard A. Linder;
Shirley M. Malcolm; W. Paul Martin; George V.
McGowan; R. Scott Pfeifer; Judith S. Sachwald; R.
Edward Shilling; Solomon H. Snyder, Ph.D.;
Crystal Watkins; Donald E. Wilson, M.D.; four
vacancies. Terms expire 1995.

Executive Commissions/591

Ex officio: Mark L. Wasserman, Secretary of
Economic & Employment Development;
Jacqueline H. Rogers, Secretary of Housing &
Community Development; Nancy S. Grasmick,
Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools.

c/o Maryland Science Center
601 Light St.
Baltimore, MD 21230 (410) 685-2370, ext. 416

The Maryland Science Week Commission was
created by the Governor in February 1992 (Execu-
tive Order 01.01.1992.04). The Commission or-
ganizes and oversees a week-long series of events by
which Maryland annually observes Maryland Sci-
ence Week. The Week coincides with National Sci-
ence and Technology Week, designated by the
National Science Foundation.
Held in April, Maryland Science Week draws
attention to the importance of science and technol-
ogy and fosters an appreciation of them. Events of
the Week also are designed to inspire students to
pursue careers in science and technology.
The Commission consists of thirty members ap-
pointed to three-year terms by the Governor.


Vacancy, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor: Donald I. Dell; Dallas R.
Evans; Sally J. Michel; Chrisopher S. Servello;
Mark K. Shriver; Shari Taylor Wilson; Jennifer
Wittman. Terms expire 1995.

Philip L. Collyer; Joan Green Davis; Richard E.
Espinosa; Kathy Levin; Pamela J. Nelson; Hazel L.
Ricker; Andrea M. Vernot. Terms expire 1996.

Douglas Becker; Rhoda M. Dorsey, Ph.D.; Marion
W. Pines; William D. Quarles, Esq.; Jan C. Rivitz;
Donna J. Stanley. Terms expire 1997.

Ex officio: Carolyn W. Colvin, Secretary of Human
Resources; Mary Ann Saar, Secretary of Juvenile
Services; Tony C. Brown, M.D., Secretary of Natural
Resources; Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., State
Superintendent of Schools; Shaila R. Aery, Ed.D.,
Secretary of Higher Education; David A. Minges,
Director, Office on Volunteerism; Eleanor Falk
Young, Director, Volunteer Maryland; Jonathan
Underwood, Director, Maryland Conservation
Corps; Margaret A. O'Neill, Director, Maryland
Student Service Alliance; Jerry E. Yates, Director,
Maryland-Delaware Action Agency.

Marilyn W. Smith, Ph.D., Executive Director

c/o Office on Volunteerism
301 West Preston St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 (410) 225-4496


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 591   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  October 06, 2023
Maryland State Archives