clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e

PLEASE NOTE: The searchable text below was computer generated and may contain typographical errors. Numerical typos are particularly troubling. Click “View pdf” to see the original document.

  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search
search for:
clear space
white space
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 582   View pdf image
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

582 /Executive Commissions


Chairperson: O. James Lighthizer, Secretary of

Appointed by Governor: J. Owen Cole; Daniel A.
Colussy; Donald P. Hutchinson; Edward J.
Kremer; R. Robert Linowes, Esq.; Alan J. Noia;
Martha C. Roach; George L. Russell, Jr., Esq.

Ex officio (nonvoting): Mark L. Wasserman,
Secretary of Economic & Employment

PO. Box 8755
Office of the Secretary
Dept. of Transportation
BWI Airport, MD 21240 (410) 859-7600

In September 1993, the Governor created the
Baltimore/Washington International Airport
Commission (Executive Order 01.01.1993.23).
The Commission advises the Secretary of Transpor-
tation on the operations of BWI Airport, as well as
its management policies, practices, and procedures.
Advice covers financial planning; management ob-
jectives, controls and performance; privatization;
and budgetary matters.
The Commission studies and recommends poli-
cies to strengthen the competitiveness of BWI Air-
port within the international and domestic aviation
industry. In carrying out its responsibilities, the
Commission seeks information and advice from air-
port users and the airline industry
The Commission has ten members. Nine are
voting members. They include the Secretary of
Transportation who serves as chairperson, and
eight representatives from the business community,
appointed by the Governor. The Secretary of Eco-
nomic and Employment Development serves as a
nonvoting member.



Barbara Plantholt, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor (who names chair): M. James
Barren, Ph.D.; Rita R. Colwell, Ph.D.; Patrick P.
Hervy; Nathaniel E. Jones, Jr., Esq.; Donald N.
Langenberg, Ph.D.; Christopher H. Price, Ph.D.;
William C. Richardson, Ph.D.; Lewis J. Shuster;
Deborah A. Smeltzer; John M. Taylor; Mark L.
Wasserman. Terms expire 1994.

Maryland Bioprocessing Center, Inc.
Johns Hopkins Bayview Campus
333 Cassell Drive, Suite 4000
Baltimore, MD 21224 (410) 550-2271

Maryland Manual 1994-1995

The Governor appointed the Board of Directors
of the Maryland Bioprocessing Center, Inc., in De-
cember 1991. The Center is a private, nonprofit
organization created by industry leaders from across
Maryland in conjunction with The Johns Hopkins
University, the University of Maryland System, and
Maryland State government. The Center promotes
the growth of the biotechnology and bioprocessing
industries in Maryland. Capitalizing on the State's
renowned biomedical research base, the Center
works to establish Maryland as a world leader in
these industries.
To achieve this mission, the Center will build a
"scale-up" biopharmaceutical manufacturing facil-
ity. In 1994, the Bioprocessing Center Facility will
be constructed in East Baltimore at the Bayview
Industrial Park, 5901 East Lombard Street. The
Facility will offer Maryland biotechnology compa-
nies affordable access in Maryland to pharmaceuti-
cal-grade (GMP) manufacturing facilities,
equipment, technical expertise, and regulatory
guidance. With the recent growth in the biotech-
nology industry, Maryland firms project $3 to $5
billion in product sales, $500 to $750 million in
capital investment, 40,000 jobs, and $100 million
in tax dollars by the next decade.
The Governor appoints the Board's twelve


Elijah E. Cummings, Chairperson

Appointed by Governor: Jereleigh A. Archer, Sr.; Ronald
F. Bates; Devon Brown; Michael R. Carter; Paulette
Hall; Benjamin F. Mason; Terese Moore; Dr. Suzanne
Orr; Osborne A. Payne; Henry Pringle; Earl H.
Robbins, Jr.; Mitchell Smith; Mary Vrany; Richard S.
Will; Charlotte June Wilson.

Appointed by Senate President: Paula C. Hollinger;
Larry Young; one vacancy.

Appointed by House Speaker: Elijah E. Cummings;
Ulysses Currie; Henry B. Heller.

2300 North Calvert St., Suite 100
Baltimore, MD 21218 (410) 366-4550

At the request of the General Assembly, the
Governor formed the Governor's Commission on
Black Males in August 1990 (Joint Resolution no.
3, Acts of 1990). The Commission oversees four
subcommittees that study the nature and extent of
problems of employment and economic develop-
ment, health care, criminal justice, and education
for Maryland's African-American men and youth.
The Commission will implement new programs or
demonstration projects, develop and implement
community education and public awareness pro-


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Maryland Manual, 1994-95
Volume 186, Page 582   View pdf image
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives